This Savage Song Makes The Best First Book Of The Year // Schwab Has Just Written The Start Of The Next YA Movement

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I am not generally known for being someone who shrieks a lot about books. Most people who don’t know about this secret blog set up or whatever you call it πŸ˜‰ have reason to think I’m a cool, engaging, interesting little social butterfly. So now, I have to take a moment to sigh and place my hand dramatically on my forehead because I am about to ruin the reason people have to always think of me in that facade.

Continue reading

A Very Vicious Review Brought To You By Yours Truly And V.E. Schwab

12:23:16 #2 copy.png

Did you see the little wordplay there? Did you? Because it’s the best wordplay you’re ever going to get in all of JanuaryΒ because when I’m stillΒ reading all of my Xmas gifted-books, my attention doesn’t do too good of a job ofΒ staying on blog posts like how my resolve doesn’t do too good of a job of stayingΒ aliveΒ when there is any kind of sweet in the house.

Continue reading

How Shatter Me Shattered My Soul (And Not In A Good Way)

how-shatter-me

I’m back with a book review! So I’ve dropped on my reading, but nevertheless I did come up with time to read Shatter Me. In fact, I stayed up past midnight on Friday night to finish, and I can’t really remember why. I guess it made it much easier to speed through since I was already annoyed with the whole thing and didn’t need to savor the excellency of the words and characters on each page.

Continue reading

The Wrath And The Dawn/The Rose And The Dagger Dual Review || Whilst I Shriek Praise For Renee Ahdieh

the wrath and the dawn.png

I suppose it is somewhat of a surprise when I acknowledge that I really like the Wrath and the Dawn…because when authors decide to write about aryan/persian/arabian settings and characters, they unfortunately do not ever get close to hitting the mark of accuracy. It is always particularly irksome to me if authors try to go for not-first-world cultures and it seems as if they don’t know what they’re writing about other than the fact that they wanted to write about a culture that will bring diversity to their book.

However, the Wrath and the Dawn was spectacular and I had almost no arguments. I guess I can recommend this to my mother and then be proud of my heritage. Then I will somehow find a way to tell my mum that I ransacked her closet to getΒ her jewelry and traditional clothes. Well,Β I ambushed my closet as well. The book photo shoot in the end, was still very fun. Salwar here, ghagra choli here, SHOWER EVERYTHING WITH JEWELRY BASICALLY. *minimal spoilers follow*

Continue reading

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Generally Being The Cutest Novel Of Ever

simon vs. the homo sapiens agenda

Reading A Clash of Kings (of which I’m nearly done with eeeek) got really boring at parts because as good as G.R.R.M is at writing, the book is sooo long and it dragged basically a lot, so I ended up resolving to read this, because I had wanted to for quite a while. I was anticipating a fun read, but I wasΒ notΒ anticipating it to be SOOO good. I sat in bed and I read it all in one sitting. My family probably thought that I’d jumped out the window and decided to live in the yard.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is honestly the cutest book I’ve probably read. And it’s so cute, because it was ridiculously normal! I mean, even in contemporary now there’s all sorts of different characters with their own piques and individualities, but Simon is justΒ normal. Perfectly normal, surrounded by normal kids and normal people (see how I differentiated kids from people there aye). But normal is complicated, and that’s why this book was the cutest normal of ever.

Continue reading

Dear Mrs. Maas, I Fell In Love With A Court Of Mist And Fury And A Million More Reasons Why It Is Better Than A Court of Thorns and Roses

Top Ten Tuesday (12).png

So I sort of really enjoyed this book. It was way more spectacular than A Court of Thorns and Roses and I really reveled in reading it, despite what I expected about this book. I shipped Feysand instead of Feylin the whole way, which is why I think I enjoyed this book so much. Altogether, it was definitely an unforgettable book.

Oh, I’ll say it. I loved A Court of Mist And Fury. I thought that I definitely wouldn’t, after readingΒ Aimal‘s review and talking to her about it. She told me that I should give it a go, and so I did. And where sheΒ hatedΒ it, IΒ lovedΒ it.

That’s that. (IMO IMO IMO everything here is IMO) It was infinitely better than the preceding novel, no doubt. So naturally, I’m having a hard time reviewing it, because of ALL OF MY THOUGHTS. But what I’ve figured out about this book is that there is two primary views of it: 1) the people who hate it and have good reason to 2) the people who love it and have good reason to. There’s not really an in the middle with this book, there is no average, it’s either you were pleased with all the great things, or you were brought down by all the lesser details. And I belong to the former group, but I will address some things that I didn’t like as well. Whoo. I’m not ready for this. Please write faster, Mrs. Maas. I NEED THAT THIRD BOOK NOW NOW NOW.

LISTS. MILKSHAKES. PIE. LISTSSSSSSSS. RHYSAND. LIST LIST LISTS. THIS IS MY LIFE.

Continue reading

Made You Up By Francesca Zappia || Book Review || Contemporary Paranoia? Count Me In

Made you up

Made You Up is my latest extent of interest in YA novels about schizophrenia, and other mentalΒ disorders. Each time I read a book about these type of things, I feel motivated to read about mental disorders and try to understand them and this book pulled off everything. With just the right amount of crazy, hallucinations, doubts, suspense, and thrill, and just a little (wonderful) bit of romance, the book made my head SPIN with the dire NEED to fangirl.

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to beβ€”sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.

-Goodreads

Continue reading