A Very Vicious Review Brought To You By Yours Truly And V.E. Schwab

12:23:16 #2 copy.png

Did you see the little wordplay there? Did you? Because it’s the best wordplay you’re ever going to get in all of January because when I’m still reading all of my Xmas gifted-books, my attention doesn’t do too good of a job of staying on blog posts like how my resolve doesn’t do too good of a job of staying alive when there is any kind of sweet in the house.

That said, if you are a particularly dull person* and have not already to the meaning of this post and are still being a little shocked peanut in the belief that V.E. Schwab is contributing to this blog post based on the above title, let me take this wonderful moment to have a little session of prayer AND THEN PROMPTLY RUIN YOUR HAPPINESS FOREVER BECAUSE THIS IS NOT A GUEST POST OF MISS QUEEN SCHWAB.

It is a book review. About Vicious. Otherwise known as the universal center of my entire being. IT IS A BLACK HOLE AND IS EATING PLANETS AND ONE DAY IT WILL BE EARTH AND WE WILL ALL BEGONE EXCEPT FOR MY BLOG WHICH WILL LIVE ON IN HONORABLE MEMORY OF LEMON MERINGUE PIE AND VICIOUS BY V.E. SCHWAB.

So there.

*not unlike me, congratulationsscreen-shot-2016-11-19-at-11-07-07-pmscreen-shot-2016-12-11-at-11-14-11-am11616-13-copy-3dsc_1923

 

 

 

 

 

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Screen Shot 2016-12-17 at 8.50.00 PM.png
13638125Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-11-07-07-pm

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-12-17 at 8.55.07 PM.png

all jolly good Vicious little things that I loved in Vicious:

THE FREAKING AMAZING WRITING SCHWAB DONE HERE. I’m SO jealous of Queen Schwab because I am definitely not a person who goes out on a whim and reads a book. There has to be some kind of recommendation or hype system going on here, or atleast some penguin crime lord willing to offer pie if I read this (basically ARCs). I have read two books now by Schwab, promptly given them both five stars, four of which were probably because of the writing (most especially in Vicious) and this book does not once fail the surrounding hype in terms of writing. She’s a genie, folks. A genie.

VICTOR VALE AND HIS TWISTED LITTLE TWISTEDNESS. Victor Vale is hands-down a villain. He is not a good guy, he does not have good power, he does not save the world, he does not fight Voldemort in an epic saga showdown consisting of seven large books, he probably ignores the duck crossing signs and runs right over them (no sorry that’s Eli), and yet–Victor Vale is an excellent character who is definitely not a character because someone this real CANNOT BE FICTITIOUS YOU HEAR ME. Even though he is so twisted I love Victor Vale. He speaks to the depths of my very dark, very mauve* soul.

THE COMPLEXITY OF ALL THE CHARACTERS AND PERHAPS EVEN THE DUCKS. The ducks Eli ran over on purpose because if he did it to the janitor, why not the ducks? God has put him on this Earth to rid this planet of ducks, after all. But STILLL. Eli Ever Cardale is the most inhumane antagonist I’ve ever read and hated and adored and yet he’s such a perfectly written character.

Also, Mitchell Turner, who may or may not possibly be the most swoon-inducing character ever. He’s such a big, muscle-y guy and people think he robs and is a hit man and they hide their precious purses and ducks around him but HE IS JUST A BIG COMPUTER NERD SOFTIE.

SYDNEY CLARKE AND SERENA CLARKE THE ANTI-SISTER GOALS. Really in every Schwab book to exist, everyone’s existence is always controversial. That’s right, even the ducks. However, they’re important enough to get their own little big-text heading. Sydney Clarke is such a conflicted little bean of a human who is 12 YEARS OLD AND NEEDS A PROPER LIFE MY FRENS. Instead she is on the run with a revengeful twisted human and a ginormous hacker-pro softie. Not exactly ideal, but better then be with Eli and her sister–Serena Clarke, the other side of this coin.

Serena is…someone I sort of understand. I mean, everything I’ve been taught about life is that you have to work hard, and then you get what you’ve been working for and there’s never a happily-ever-after but there is happiness. Serena Clarke is getting about zero happiness, the poor thing–she doesn’t have to work hard, she gets things freely and easily. It doesn’t explain all her ulterior motives and wicked experimental urges, but it’s a starting place.

THE CONCEPT OF EOs’ AND SUPERHUMAN POWERS PLUS ALL THE ANTI-HERO, DARK VILLAIN-Y-NESSI read a lot of fantasy, okay? I read a lot of books with, on top of that, magic, or people with superhuman abilities. AND YOU KNOW WHAT? Almost all of them have people who have magic or special powers–but not by development–by BIRTH. They have it by NATURE, not nurture. And I love how Schwab just flipped that up–all EO’s are not born with powers, their powers are nurtured and brought to them with a near-death experience. HOW FREAKING ORIGINAL IS THIS?! I’ve read a ton of fantasy, believe me, and I know how many ideas are original and how many are completely already used ideas. THIS IS THE MOST ORIGINAL IT CAN GET, FOLKS. IT’S FREAKING SPECTACULAR.

ME TRULY UNDERSTANDING VICTOR VALE AND ELI CARDALE. I mean, how can you hate two people that aren’t necessarily bad, but aren’t necessarily good either? One of them is following what he thinks is his fate or purpose of life, and the other is following his heart’s high hopes for revenge. Well, that depends on whether Victor has a heart or not. So really, I understand these two main characters.

Let me tell you something. I am not the best person you will ever meet. I’ve done things that I’ve regretted later, just like everyone else. I’ve failed myself and others. I expect too much of myself and I pressure myself so I much, that sometimes I end up in depression. SO I DO NOT CONNECT WITH ANGELIC, PERFECT BOOK CHARACTERS WHO CAN DO NO WRONG AND HAVE THE BEST CONSCIENCE OF US ALL. And this book finally, finally gives me something that I’ve been wanting all along–not the story of good people, but of people who have tried to be good. And failed. And accepted it.screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-11-07-07-pm

Screen Shot 2016-12-17 at 8.50.59 PM.png

 This is no doubt the best adult book I’ve ever read and probably will read and so there. There is nothing I would have changed, fiends, and I am the biggest changer to exist. IT IS THE SORCERESS SUPREME. #doctorstrangeandnoregrets

one-star-1

screen-shot-2016-11-21-at-7-24-38-pm15715844 13514612

 

 

 

 

 

 

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
audience-chat-thing

untitled-design-22

meet-veda-blog-post-bottom-1

4 thoughts on “A Very Vicious Review Brought To You By Yours Truly And V.E. Schwab

    1. ACKK KEVINNN THANK YOU. 🙂 (my laptop seems to think ‘KEVINNN’ isn’t a word??? like who did this???)
      AHAHAA. ADSOM was the first Schwab book I ever read way back in September of ’16 and I fell in love. However, I’m ashamed to say I’m the worst (book, lol) lover ever because I HAVEN’T READ THE SECOND ONE YET OMG. This Savage Song was the first read of ’17 for me and it was a magnificent way to start the year ❤

  1. The Clark sisters, ahhhhhh. I don’t want to say anything that will be a spoiler for other people reading your blog but, Serena, just, ahhhh.

    Now that I have that out of my system, thank you for recommending All Our Yesterdays! I hadn’t heard of that book before, but the synopsis looks fantastic. Now I really want to read it!

    1. The Clarke sisters are THE BEST. And not just them! ALL THE CHARACTERS ARE SPECTACULAR. I feel like Sydney was a little innocent and blunt, but Serena was the whole thing! I LOVED READING HER.
      All Our Yesterdays is definitely one of the best plots I’ve ever read in a while. I hope you enjoy it!
      Happy reading!
      x

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

