Glorious Autumn (My Happy Season) And My Fall TBR

things-bloggers-should-not-compare-their-blogs-on-11

Autumn is my favorite season of the year. Winter is too cold, summer is too hot, and my allergies shoot through the skyΒ in Spring. Autumn’s just perfect, and something about it makes it so cozy, especially for buying new clothing and redecorating your home and reading books.

Did you watch the debate yesterday? It completely blowed off all the warmth and love that Autumn brings. Trump actually did well 20 minutes in but then he fell asleep with his eyes open, and, well, you can see how that went.

But that’s beside the point. SO MANY books released in September and I’m so excited to read them, because obviously I’m the kind of person who never gets books until ages (weeks) after they’re released and so I just sit on the back burner while everyone else chats about that brilliant new book. πŸ™‚

I’m linking up with Top Ten Tuesday today!Β The prompt is Fall TBR and if you want to find out more about how it works, check out the gorgeous host and owner’s blog:Β The Broke And The Bookish.

9:5:16 #7.png

screen-shot-2016-09-27-at-8-26-19-pm
Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

I’m SO excited for this book! I know it came out AGES ago and I should’ve read it AGES ago, but as I explained, I’m always late to things and therein I don’t have it yet. But that’s okay, because I’m hopefully going to go to the bookstore this week sometime.

Anways, I don’t ship Rowaelin because while I like them individually, they are no good together in my opinion. I just love the vegetable too much ;). And besides, I heard he’s not in the book?? I’ll be reading it for Dorian and Manon and Aedion and, well, since my beloved Celaena is gone, not much else.

Don’t get me wrong. I love Aelin. But Celaena was just so much more. Also curse Maas for taking up all the good medieval names (not Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, I swear she got that out of a goblin or something).

 

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Crooked Kingdom is hopefully a way better book than Six of Crows. And I’m not saying that while insinuating I didn’t like Six of Crows. I LOVED IT. And Crooked Kingdom is a cube chunk compared to Six of Crows’ length so it had better be good, and I have no doubts, because as long as Kaz and Inej and Wylan and Jesper go through, I think my life will continue on just fine.

Matthias and Nina are fine too.

But mostly Kaz and Inej. Even though Jesper is cute.

KAZ. AND INEJ.

 

The Fever Code by James Dashner

I read the Mazerunner a couple years ago, and I loved the first book and I loved the second book more. I don’t know why everyone hates the Scorch Trials though, it’s such a good book! It’s full of action and blood and guts and gore and Cranks and, well, Cranks. The Death Cure wasn’t as good as the others because it lagged a bit in between and there were no gory deaths or Cranks.

And then the Kill Order was a disappointment because it was SO BORING. Nothing happened for a good chunk of the book, especially in the middle. I did love the twist at the end though, about Teresa ;). And I especially loved the tidbits we got into Teresa and Thomas before the maze.

So the Fever Code had better be good, because I have high expectations for this book.

 

9516-5

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Since Autumn is my favorite season, I’m planning on treating myself a bit. I’m going to see the movie! But I haven’t read the book and that’s always a bummer because hello, you should always read the book before the movie.

So hopefully I can pick it up and read the book before I see the movie, because apparently the book is supposed to have some pretty cute pictures of kids and of course I want to see those too.

 

Unravel Me/Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

I read Shatter Me, and I didn’t hate it enough to completely let the series go. So I’m planning on reading the next two and hoping that Warner and Juliette go through. Because the only thing that held me back from DNF’ing it was Warner. WARNER OMG. He’s such a dynamic, multidimensional creature. Review to come.

 

The Lord of the RingsΒ Trilogy by JRR Tolkien

It’s a chunky book series, and it’s three big books of enormous, wonderful subject matter.

Hopefully it lives up to the hype train! I know, I know, I haven’t read this yet. I read the Hobbit and I watched the movie but I was not that interested and I thought that the series would be the same lagging thing.

But then I kind of got a whole new flash of it and LEGOLAS????! OMG LEGOLAS. I must read this book series.

 

The Architect of Song by A.G. Howard

The Architect of Song is supposed to be a step up from the Splintered trilogy and I certainly hope so. The Splintered trilogy was, all in all, disappointing enough for me to leave the first book about 60% through. But I do want to read these book because some of the reviews seem super awesome and it has super ratings.

Plus the blurb. Have you read it?? It’s amazing–dead guys, graveyards, deaf people, old-times charisma–that’s just amazing. Especially the main character who sounds awesome except for she’s deaf so she probably can’t hear anything, but still. And the grand person on the other end of the arranged marriage spectrum. There’s always chemistry in forced love. You just have to see it.

9516-12

screen-shot-2016-09-27-at-6-11-12-pm

-How do you feel about Tahereh Mafi’s books?? Have you read any of them and do you plan on it? And Ransom Riggs? Have you watched the Miss Peregrine movie? And if you have, is it any good?

-If you did a Top Ten, give me the link. I want to check it out. And I have homework for you! List a book on your TBR that you think will be the best book you read this season. And give me a book that you think you’re not going to get to, because of course, that’s my thing since I’m always late to all the book stuff. πŸ˜„

screen-shot-2016-08-05-at-2-10-19-pm

2 thoughts on “Glorious Autumn (My Happy Season) And My Fall TBR

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

