Five Books I Rethought And Ruthlessly Rerated Because Fact #17 About Me Is That I’m Inordinately Indecisive

five booksichangedmy opinionabout

This is basically what went down since last time I posted something: My cousin decided to bunk with me for a couple of days, we did what girls do and sat the night out and acted chaotic. After she left, my sister and I went and visited family that we have yet to leave and this is all of what I packed: my Mac, tablet/phone/other devices since this is a completely spoiled generation, Red Rising by Pierce Brown, and, oh yes, all the clothes and shoes that I kind of need.

Now I’m still with family, and hey, I tried to take decent photos but all I had was Red Rising and my tablet. SO BASICALLY PIERCE BROWN FOR ALL. But that should be something as an aversion to me typically involving Harry Potter in every photo I take…it’s almost a habit now. Almost. And I must make a note–a note that my sister wanted me to tell you:

And quote: “Veda slept for seriously 6 hours last night and woke me up and cut me on my sleep so since she’s always ‘blogging’ and wrecking Aunt’s home for every flower vase, she shouldn’t make too much noise because she should just be polite and I hope she’s not wasting her time.” End quote.

Ha! Dear sister, ask any book blogger if there’s such a thing as too much blogging or causing the extinction of flower vases.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 12.21.45 PM

This is a T5W linkup post! Top Five Wednesday is an original meme that has been created by Lainey over from Gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes which is actually a pretty cool booktube name. THE TOME. THE TOME GNOME GNOME TOME TORMUND GIANTSBANE. #gameofthronesobsessed

You just have to write a post that follows the prompt and you list around five answers that express your responses to zee prompt. Then you make sure that you credit Sam & Lainey and then comment feverishly on ever other T5W you can find (important duh).

 

File_005 (4)

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 5.23.08 PM.png

1. Insurgent by Veronica Roth

–My opinion of this book went down the second time around–

9781410467850_p0_v2_s260x420Divergent was perfect–I mean, the plot was excellent, the story and its originality were all super pleasing, and even the execution seemed to be somewhat flawless to me. And the reason why Insurgent became degraded in my perspective the second time around because of the way the movie portrayed the ‘minimal clothing preferred’ theme but also because of this:

Why are we, bookworms, called bookworms?

Because it’s not as much as we love reading books, that we always look at the best of them. We believe in books.

So the first time I read this, I was filled with excitement from Divergent and while I did recognize it not to be as amazing as Divergent, I wasn’t as irked by it as I was the second time around. The second time I read it, I didn’t have Divergent there to support my excuses for finding Insurgent acceptable. So I was ruthless.

The first time I read Insurgent, I rated it 4 stars. The second time I read it, I rated it 3 stars. 

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 2.10.19 PM

 

2. A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J Maas

–My opinion of this book went down as I kept thinking about it after finishing it–

179273951If fact #17 about me is that I’m totally indecisive, then fact #16 about me is that as much as I am a logical, emotional person with limited, scarcely-showing feelings, when my emotions do show, they are wild and ruthless and basically conquer my person. I’ve slowly discovered this as I started to read more books, because that’s another thing about being a bookworm: YOU FEEL THE WORDS.

There is two reactions that play out on my part after I finish a book, and usually it’s a positive reaction–I told you, when my emotions come into play, they are reckless and awfully happy and forever satisfied, it seems. This is almost how it goes down 60% of the time:

Me: *finishes book* *gasp*

Book:

Me: THAT WAS ENTIRELY PERFECT WHAT SHOULD I DO I WILL NEED HOT LAVA ROCKS AND HAMMERS OMG THE EMOTIONS. *dies*

Book: *stares ruthlessly*

Me: You are so perfect. *strokes lovingly*

Book: *is cuddly*

Me: 5 STARS 5 STARS 5 STARS 5 STARS

So in the end, whenever I come to rate a book, my initial reaction is always super satisfied. And since I have made it a habit to go on Goodreads directly after I have finished and not wait (which results in forgetting), I end up rating almost everything either 4 or 5 stars. But then I end up rethinking everything because I read a bunch of reviews and usually rerate lower.

This is exactly what happened with ACOMAF: I read several reviews, both negative and positive, and while I did agree with most everything in the positive reviews, I had to grudgingly admit that the negative reviews did have some backbone to them in the points they made. Once I rethought everything, I realized that ACOMAF did have amazing elements, but it also had key problems.

It’s mostly just Maas’ fault for ending so spectacularly and leaving me in a 5-star puddle of feels. 😀

My initial rating of ACOMAF was 5 stars. After rethinking it, I rerated it 4 stars.

 

 

3. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh


–My opinion of TWatD went down as I read some more reviews about it–

18798983*spoilers await*

My problem with TWatD was just after I read a couple of negative, though reasonable reviews. One that legit changed my mind was Jeann’s review of TWatD. I had to agree with her about the consummation of the marriage, and my problem with Shahrzad was way bigger than that–

She came to the palace of Rey intending to kill Khalid to avenge Shiva. She hasn’t known Khalid for even a year and she’s in love and ready to turn her back on the ghost of her dearest friend–who should matter to her more than that. I expected her to fall in love with Khalid, any bookworm could have foretold that–except for I expected her to kill him anyway to avenge Khalid. Now, would that not have made for a far better story?

*end spoilers*

I rated The Wrath and the Dawn 5 stars, and after realizing all the negative parts about it, I rated it 4.5 stars since it was too good to completely subtract from the initial rating.

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 2.10.19 PM

 

4. Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo

–My opinion of this book went down as I completed it–
14061957

Have you ever felt about a book while reading it that you are sure it will be amazing, that everything that has led up to it has built up for something incredible?

OKAY. So I know I was supposed to love this book, what with Siege and Storm and Shadow and Bone being entirely wonderful (almost), but that’s the problem with Ruin and Rising. It’s almost like as if Leigh Bardugo was an entrepreneur starting a business. If your sales pitch is full of dreams, then you had better make the dreams reality.

You have to deliver if you promise.

And Ruin & Rising, my friends, simply did not deliver. It was not nearly as good, or as thrilling, or as stirringly written as I had hoped. Shadow & Bone was a spectacular book, and Siege & Storm still gave much promise. With all this potential in play, it must be fulfilled.

And Ruin & Rising did not fulfill the promise that its prior two companions promised me.

I initially intended to rate Ruin & Rising 5 stars because of all the buildup present in the book series, but ended up giving a 3.5ish star rating. 

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 2.10.19 PM

 

5. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

–My opinion of this went down as I kept contemplating what happened throughout the book and read some other reviews–

the_fault_in_our_starsThis is how the conversation in my head went while trying to rate this book:

Me 1: BUT NOO THE ENDING NOOOO.

Me 2: And then Tris delivered a soliloquy about that too. HOW OLD IS SHE AGAIN.

Me 1: But Tris and Perfect Boy are so perfect together!

Me 2: Unrealistically perfect.

Me 1: *hashtag pessimistic*

So in the end, I ended up not enjoying it as much as I had hoped to. It was a kind of a matter of hype I had to count it then count it again to make sure the money was right and with everyone telling how amazing the book was. It just didn’t live up to its standards for me. John Green is an excellent writer, and Hazel and Augustus are great people…they were just simply too unrealistic.

I rated this book 4 stars at first, but then switched to 3 stars because of rethinking everything and realizing all the problems. 

File_006 (3)

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 8.07.31 PM.png

All in all, I have to say that I usually change my opinion on a book when I feel it has worsened by my perspective.

The reason books don’t ever ‘get better’ for me is because I go into almost every book thinking: “I can give this 5 stars.”

Most of the books I read receive a 4 star rating (except lately I’ve been bombed with terrific books because book bloggers are ruthless with their recommendations as I am with reratings) and since that’s already a pretty high rating, it usually only goes down from there for me.

I INITIALLY RATE BASED ON THE FINAL EMOTION THE BOOK LEAVES ME WITH. Basically, I read A Court of Mist and Fury, and then with that cliffhanger–I wasn’t even in control of my hand when it went to Goodreads and rated it 5 stars. Sometimes that happens when you’re a bookworm. You suddenly lose control of your limbs because Pynch sailed. #pynch

CHARACTERS ARE MORE IMPORTANT TO ME THAN PLOT. This doesn’t mean that the plot isn’t important to me, if there’s kind of no plot and it’s just a life story or something, I won’t give it a full star rating, but…if the characters, by chance, are entrancing and wonderful, the book has got a shot.

So this isn’t a ‘what do you like better?’ but more a ‘would you rather’.

And that’s why I would go for characters–because they have the chance to make or break the plot, even if it is simply just one more Cinderella story.

I WILL READ OTHER NEGATIVE/POSITIVE REVIEWS THAT INFLUENCE MY OPINION. When I initially read a book, and I love it, and end up rating it 5 or 4 stars, I will always go back because it’s hard to X out of Goodreads and read through a bunch of other reviews, and I will do one of things when I come across a negative review which influence me the most:

  1. I will defend the book because I love it too much. Ex. Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, any Harry Potter book, Legend trilogy by Marie Lu, Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess (mostly Will) also by Cassandra Clare.
  2. I will admit that the book does have some flaws. Ex. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas, Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas.

IF IT IS A MEANINGFUL, IMPACTFUL BOOK, THEN I WILL CONTEMPLATE IT A LOT AND BASED ON MY DEEPER THOUGHTS, RERATE. Whenever I read an amazing book (by my perspective) something happens, and I’m sure you’ve felt it too, but you start thinking about it.

And no, it’s not just thinking about it–it’s not just mentally obsessing even, or just pondering what happened in the ending or whatever like that.

It is literally replaying the entire story in your head. Tell me if you ever do that, yes? And when I replay the entire story in my head, it’s much easier to point out all the flaws, because you are simply contemplating everything.

File_009

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 2.39.31 PM

Tell me a book that you have changed you opinion on–regardless of increasing or decreasing the rating BUT tell me SPECIFICALLY what made you change your rating and if you relate with me on the reasons you switch your rating, then do tell me.

-If you did a T5W, then leave me a link! And also, tell me a recent read that you rated but are still not sure of your rating and tell me why you are unsure of your rating. Or have you ever even felt unsure about a rating before?

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 2.10.19 PM

2 thoughts on “Five Books I Rethought And Ruthlessly Rerated Because Fact #17 About Me Is That I’m Inordinately Indecisive

    1. Right?! Divergent was definitely amazing so it kind of took me by surprise when I realized Insurgent was nowhere near as good…I guess I was just hoping I would like it as much as I liked Divergent! Completely agree with you there 🙂

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

