The Wrath And The Dawn/The Rose And The Dagger Dual Review || Whilst I Shriek Praise For Renee Ahdieh

the wrath and the dawn.png

I suppose it is somewhat of a surprise when I acknowledge that I really like the Wrath and the Dawn…because when authors decide to write about aryan/persian/arabian settings and characters, they unfortunately do not ever get close to hitting the mark of accuracy. It is always particularly irksome to me if authors try to go for not-first-world cultures and it seems as if they don’t know what they’re writing about other than the fact that they wanted to write about a culture that will bring diversity to their book.

However, the Wrath and the Dawn was spectacular and I had almost no arguments. I guess I can recommend this to my mother and then be proud of my heritage. Then I will somehow find a way to tell my mum that I ransacked her closet to get her jewelry and traditional clothes. Well, I ambushed my closet as well. The book photo shoot in the end, was still very fun. Salwar here, ghagra choli here, SHOWER EVERYTHING WITH JEWELRY BASICALLY. *minimal spoilers follow*

File_006 (2)

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 2.15.07 PM

I could say that the Wrath and the Dawn was alright, but it was amazing. As I was stressing before, I COULD RECOMMEND THIS TO MY MOTHER.

That usually never happens, because every Cassandra Clare book involves minimal clothing worn at some point and it’s about as awkward to recommend a book like that to your parents as it is to watch Jon and Ygritte in Game of Thrones with the parental.

JUST OH OKAY NOW I SUDDENLY NEED TO ESCAPE TO THE KITCHEN BECAUSE I’M HUNGRY SO I WILL ELIMINATE MYSELF FROM THE ROOM. That was completely irrelevant so I agree that it was a very pointless buildup to this review that I have no clue how to write. 4.5 stars. 5 stars. 4.75 stars. I DON’T KNOW I LOVE THE SHIP TOO MUCH.

 

File_002 (8)

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 2.30.49 PM

  • KHALID AND SHAHRZAD THE SHIP. It was rough at the beginning (obviously alluring and that’s why I like Khalid so much because ugh my heart is so traitorous Khalid is basically Will all shadowy and Arabian but even though he’s a murderer my heart basically says: OMG IT’S A SHADY GUY SWOON *mortified* #betrayed) but then it became something more, as Blue Sargent and I like to say because we are both trees.
  • REY. KHORASAN. THE DESERT. TALEQAN. Basically every setting in the book was described gorgeously. The architecture was spot in–everything I imagined was grandeur af.
  • KHALID IBN AL-RASHID. Ahdieh pulled of all the dry humor and the shadiness of his character which obviously made him super attractive. She made him seem genuinely evil. AND SINCE HE WAS THE BAD GUY I WAS ATTRACTED WITHIN 2.7 SECS.

    14666782
    Aimal‘s idea of Khalid was not wrong *SWOON*
  • TARIQ IMRAN AL-ZIYAD. Tariq was something that was described so realistically, that was portrayed so meaningfully. I actually got something out of Tariq out of the kind of pointless plot. And OBVIOUSLY he was acting a bit rash–I suppose when the person you love is married to and perhaps falling in love with someone else, it’s hard not to be a little brokenhearted.
  • DESPINA OMG DESPINA.
    Shahrzad: Ew a pretty person who is supposed to attend to all my needs go away or actually never mind let’s be friends and spy on Khalid’s sword ceremony where people blow fire
    Despina: YES I AM A SPY DARLING
    Shahrzad: *obviously not a good spy*
    Despina: JALAL IS MINE
  • THE PACING AND STYLE OF WRITING. Ahdieh writes as if she’s not writing. It’s literally as if a story is being told in front of the reader and Ahdieh was just the scribe. Not the author or anything like that. The scribe who just wrote down everything that happened. The story was written so vividly, it legit came off the page. Everything I read was as if it was being acted out in my head because I am not luxurious and cannot hire actors in front of me. The story was a bit slow-paced but I guess that was to focus on the romance. Which I don’t go against.

 

File_005 (3)

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 2.31.52 PM

  • SHAHRZAD AL-KHAYZURAN. Ooh, I’m the minority. I figured she would be first on my list. She was feisty, fired a bow and arrow, volunteered to marry the Caliph so her sister Prim wouldn’t have to to avenge her best friend, and while thinking she was average, had several men gravitating toward her. Also Tariq was Gale. Guess who Shahrzad secretly is?
vpeon9
The only thing that made Shahrzad different was the fact that she was super sarcastic and whereas Katniss had survival skills, Shahrzad couldn’t survive without Khalid probably
  • THE CONSUMMATION OF THE MARRIAGE. I just won’t even say anything. Shahrzad practically donated her body to Khalid and that was first on the tracks of what made me dislike her. She is sarcastic and sassy and real, I suppose, but underneath it she is very shallow and narrow-minded and quite conceited. Up to one point, it’s not very funny anymore.
  • THE LIE ABOUT THE RETELLING-NESS OF IT. I don’t thing it is fair to call this a retelling of 1001 Nights, because it’s actually more of a love story. Shahrzad survives her first few days by telling stories and then it’s all SHADY KHALID AND OMG SHAHRZAD’S FEELINGS ARE HURT OH NVM CLOTHES OFF EVERYONE tumblr_miickgvi3s1rket4qo1_400
  • THE PLOT. Or, actually, the lack of it. This is a love story, and only a love story. There might have been some action in the last few chapters, but most of the story was:
    1) Shahrzad wants to kill Khalid
    2) Shahrzad wants to kiss Khalid
    3) I AM TARIQ AND I SHALL GO SAVE SHAHRZAD
    4) Coddling and also Shahrzad forgets to kill Khalid
    5) Shahrzad is nosy and then discovers what’s behind Khalid’s murderer-ness
    6) Shahrzad wants to kiss Khalid
    7) Clothes off
    8) NO THE CLIFFHANGER ALSO JAHANDAR IS KIND OF INSANE
  • SHAHRZAD PURPOSEFULLY FAILS HER MISSION. She leaves it very quickly likes eh leaves Tariq very quickly. What, may I ask, is all the build up for saying that she’s going to avenge Shiva and also Shahrzad’s thoughts throughout the whole book being:
    1) must kill the Caliph
    2) must kill the Caliph but howww
    3) must kill/kiss the Caliph
    4) kiss Khalid
    5) kiss Khalid
    6) LETS BREAK THE CURTAINS ON THE BED BY DRAMATICALLY FALLING ONTO IT AND FONDLING
    7) kiss Khalid
    I love the love story–it was written perfectly, but without all the buildup and pretense of her wanting to kill him which never happened because she kind of fell in love, I would have loved it more.

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 4.50.46 PM

18798983

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

 

File_003 (9)

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 2.17.45 PM

The Rose And the Dagger was a complete disappointment.

I’ll just say that it described people in that area of the world to be very savage (in the bad way) living in the desert and doing whatever they want of their own will. Also Tariq kept forgetting that Shahrzad was kind of married to Khalid and he continuously made advances on her…so that kind of sent the wrong message to me and will probably send to wrong message to my mother as well when she reads it and learns that it’s all right for us aryan descendants to try to steal other people’s espoused.

Oh, that’s all right, aryans and persians and arabians–well, we’re all wildlings anyway, yes? We aren’t living in the first-world US/Australia/UK so we’re savages now. ARGH

But eek as I complain, remember that WRITING IS SO SUPER HARD and I GET THAT. So just keep it in your wonderful pumpkin mind that I’m not getting onto Ahdieh or anyone else. WRITING A BOOK IS SUPER HARD ASK ANY BOOKWORM WHO’S EVER EXISTED. Ask the book, even.

 

File_001 (9)

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 2.34.22 PM

  • THE SHIP. I swear, I literally probably gave this book its three stars all because of the Khalid and Shahrzad that went on. I LIKED IT SO MUCH. IT WAS TOO PERFECT. I swear their relationship was the only thing that got better in this book. Aside from the happily ever after of course.
  • KHALID BEING ANGRY AND MEAN. Up to the first part, he was a completely broken husband. Then when Tariq did what he did and tried to kill Khalid but decided to suddenly not be the best bowman in all of Rey and accidentally hit Shahrzad, Khalid became the meanie husband who kind of seriously loved his wife and nearly killed Tariq but then he didn’t because he is a nice meanie. 153844-melissa-rauch-im-nice-to-every-qk8t
  • THE EPILOGUE. Omg it killed me. It killed me. Khalid got more royal and refined and loving and Haroun the five-year-old prince is secretly 57 years old and he’s super cute because he wants to fly on a winged serpent. Also Shahrzad gets very queenly by running everywhere and being haphazard and still a child at heart. Except for this one thing that goes beyond Khalid and Haroun, Haroun is the cutest:

“Uncle Artan fixed my knee the other day after I fell. Maybe you should ask him to fix it.”
“That’s not necessary.”
“Why is that?”
“I don’t mind it.”
“Why?”
“Because it reminds me that all things come at a cost. That every decision we make has consequences.”
The boy nodded slowly, as though he were very sage for all his five years.
“I just don’t like that you’re hurt.” His small fingers remained pressed to his father’s cheek, grazing the edge of the scar ever so gently.
“Just as I would not like for you to be hurt either. Hence the worry regarding the flying serpent.”
The boy grinned, his pert nose wrinkling. “I love you, Baba.”
“And never forget my heart is always in your hands, Haroun.”

-The Rose and the Dagger, Renee Ahdieh

Basically the first line is said by Haroun and so on. But mind you, I have one question. WHY DOES KHALID THINK A FIVE YEAR OLD BOY IS GOING TO UNDERSTAND HIM TALKING ABOUT EVERYTHING COMING AT A COST? Oh yes, because his five year old son is a sage. (obviously quoted directly from the above quote) Also, WHY CAN’T KHALID JUST SAY I LOVE YOU TOO?? Honestly. I understand that he’s the king of kings–nvm I just realized that he vowed to never say he loved anyone and instead show it. Anyhoo, Khalid is a very strange father for thinking his five-year-old sage son can understand that.

  • ARTAN AND HIS FLYING SERPENT. Sure, he wasn’t evident for the most part of the book, and maybe there for like four chapters, but he was charming. He seemed to be the only person who could put Shahrzad on edge and out-sarcastic-ize her.

 

File_004 (3)

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 2.35.49 PM

  • TARIQ IMRAN AL-ZIYAD. My point was stated above at the tippy top when I said I didn’t like how Tariq thought that somehow, Shahrzad and Khalid were no longer made so he could make all the advances he wanted. SHE IS NOT YOURS GET YOUR OWN ISH PLEASE. #lillysingh Also him thinking that he would get Shahrzad back or suddenly make the ‘game’ even if he killed Khalid. At this point, I don’t think he loves Shahrzad. BECAUSE HE KNOWS THAT IT WILL BREAK SHAHRZAD’S HEART SO NOW IS HE GOING TO GET JAHANDAR TO PUT A MEMORY CHARM ON HER OR SOMETHING.
  • IRSA AND RAHIM. The romance was just fake. It didn’t develop, it didn’t stagnate, it didn’t do the normal things a relationship does. Rahim kissed her once after he asked her for permission and then BAM they suddenly love each other? I don’t buy it. That’s probably because I’m always dubious. SO SKEPTICAL. And I quote:

“I–” Irsa took a careful breath to steady her words. “I have felt alone for most of my life. Until you.” She placed the shell on his chest. “But I promise I won’t feel alone anymore. I will never forget.” She stood on shaky feet. “I will always remember.”
“I love you, Rahim al-Din Walad. Thank you for loving me in return.”

-The Rose and the Dagger, Renee Ahdieh

  • THE CIVILIZED BADAWI TRIBE WHO IS NOT A TRIBE. There was like five tents altogether in the scene that Ahdieh painted in my head. They are obviously civilized–the only thing that could possibly make them a tribe is the fact that they live in the desert.
  • SHAHRZAD DECIDING TO DO SOMETHING AND THEN DOING IT WITH BASICALLY NOTHING STOPPING HER EVER. Also, Shahrzad doesn’t do much for half the book, and then she does ERRTHING for the other half without any break or flow in between. This was so true. Shahrzad showed Irsa how she could make the carpet fly and then decided she would go visit Khalid with it in the night and she did it within a matter of minutes of deciding. Not very realistic. They must be a very trustful tribe. #pacingplease
  • RENEE AHDIEH SUDDENLY FALTERING IN HER WRITING. In this book, it was far more raw and frustrating; it didn’t have the flow that it did in the first book. It felt like the editing wasn’t done properly, or Ahdieh had rushed to write it:

For he did not yet know the toll the storm had taken on his abilities. Nor did Jahandar know the full price he’d been forced to pay to wield such awesome ability.

-The Rose and the Dagger, Renee Ahdieh

LIKE WHAT. READ THE REST OF THE WORDS AND THEN TELL ME ‘AWESOME’ FITS IN THERE. It was completely strange, because I was reading, and then this just popped out to me. Editor, who are you? Where are you? YOU’RE FIRED. #trumpstyle

  • THE WAR AT THE END AND THE SULTAN OF PARTHIA. Any war that lasts for 2 or 3 days is not really a war or a battle. It was written VERY. POORLY. The only loss that anyone seemed to recognize was Rahim. SO NO ONE ELSE DIED IT WAS JUST HIM YEP SURE I BUY THAT TOO. And the Sultan of Parthia? The most shallow, cookie-cutter character ever. WHYY. Khalid and Tariq were the only good antagonists in the book. When your antagonists seem to be good at times and the protagonists seem to be evil at times, you know the author is a skilled writer.

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 4.55.25 PM.png

23308084

The darker the sky, the brighter the stars.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny. Still, a curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Now she’s reunited with her family, who have found refuge in the desert, where a deadly force is gathering against Khalid—a force set on destroying his empire and commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Trapped between loyalties to those she loves, the only thing Shazi can do is act. Using the burgeoning magic within her as a guide, she strikes out on her own to end both this terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. But to do it, she must evade enemies of her own to stay alive.

The saga that began with The Wrath and the Dawn takes its final turn as Shahrzad risks everything to find her way back to her one true love again.

 

File_006 (2)

 

Here’s what I want you bookworms to do now:

-Tomorrow is Harry Potter’s birthday! (Also JK’s, she gave Harry his birthday after her own. CLEVER EH) EEEEEEEEK for ginormous potterheads like me, you must plan on doing something, no? My friends and I are going for butterbeer and we’re making Harry Potter crayon melt boards. What are you planning on doing?

-Did you like the Wrath and the Dawn better, or the Rose and the Dagger? And have you read 1001 nights? Also, do you ship Khalid and Shahrzad? In which case there is a majority and a minority  😉

Veda Blog Signature

4 thoughts on “The Wrath And The Dawn/The Rose And The Dagger Dual Review || Whilst I Shriek Praise For Renee Ahdieh

  1. Ah, I don’t know why I haven’t gotten to this duology sooner! I have the second book, but not the first. I was in an Arabian-inspired mood when I read Rebel of the Sands and this crossed my mind but I never got around to reading it. Hopefully soon!

    1. Rebel of the Sands is supposed to be really good. After reading these two, I definitely have it on my TBR. You should so read the Wrath and the Dawn! If you’re looking for something persian/arabian then it represents those cultures very accurately. And the writing is GORGEOUS.

    1. That’s awesome! It’s really a spectacular book. However, there really isn’t a vast spectrum, so I’m sure you’ll enjoy some part even if you dislike it over all! 😀

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

