Five Bookshelf Accessories That Were Love At First Sight For Me || Surprises Because I Am A Picky Thing

Bookshelf Accessories

In case you did not know, I am an EXTREMELY picky person. Picky with food mostly, but other things too, and books especially is one of them. Like, unless it’s been personally recommended or its not a debut/first book in the series, a book will not catch my eye unless the cover is gorgeous/unique/to my taste/colorful and the blurb is excellent and there are tons of great but also negative reviews. I HAVE STANDARDS OKAY PLEASE.

I’ve never been a fan of those tightly packed bookshelves, to be honest. I mean, I understand that it’s a bookshelf, but I like the kinds of bookshelves that have some more space, and aren’t just literally BOOKS ON TOP OF BOOKS ON TOP OF BOOKS. Because as much as I like color, I also like simplicity and refinement, so I love the vertical books with the little vase in the middle and then horizontally laid books with a faux plant or something of the sort. I just find those kinds of spacious, cozy, books-with-other-lavish-accessories kind of bookshelves to be so gorgeous. So here we go.

AND BY THE WAY I’VE BEEN LOOKING EVERYWHERE FOR BOOKSHELF INSPIRATIONS BECAUSE I’M REDOING MY ROOM WHICH IS TORTURE BASICALLY. It was hard…but I saw these and I loved them as soon as I saw them. So they’re on my inspiration board and desire-the-most-would-like-to-steal bookshelf board. So you know why this is full of so much insta-love. I’VE NEVER EVER TAKEN MUCH INTEREST IN DESIGNING MY BOOKSHELVES UP UNTIL NOW SO THESE ARE ALL MY NEW FAVORITE ACCESSORIES. Before I used to like journals and penholders and mugs and things like that. I’m new and lit baby (what a joke (insert tears of joy emoji because I overuse it anyway)

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 12.21.45 PM

This is a T5W linkup post! Top Five Wednesday is an original meme that has been created by Lainey over from Gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes which is actually a pretty cool booktube name. THE TOME. THE TOME GNOME GNOME TOME TORMUND GIANTSBANE. #gameofthronesobsessed

You just have to write a post that follows the prompt and you list around five answers that express your responses to zee prompt. Then you make sure that you credit Sam & Lainey and then comment feverishly on ever other T5W you can find (important duh).

File_001 (8)

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 5.53.06 PM.png

*NOTE: All photos are taken off of Pinterest and titles of book accessories will be underneath any explanation and the picture*

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 3.56.51 PM

 

Beautiful Bookshelf #1

Framed Photos And Artworks

OMG, that is a gorgeous bookshelf IMO. What I love about it the most is that picture frame in the middle shelf–I definitely love big artworks in picture frames, or designs, or something else framed, but I am way more in love with smaller picture frames when it comes to the photos of people. Smaller picture frames that aren’t placed at the very front are always more aesthetically pleasing to me–they just feel so cozy and homely. AND CAPTIVATING.

 

 

Beautiful Bookshelf #2

Candles

I’ve never liked candles on walls or in kitchens or as a simple room decoration, but for some reason, in bookshelves they seem undoubtedly charming. Like honestly, they don’t even have to smell (but if they do then I am going to just live in the bookshelf) because in the candlestick, just sitting there, looks super inviting like: JUST EAT ALL THE BOOKS AND THE CANDLESTICK JOHN JUST DO IT.

 

 

Beautiful Bookshelf #3

Natural Elements

I really like all kinds of faux plants and coil baskets and leaves and twigs ad flowers–they bring light with them, and it’s surprising because even if you don’t have a window, but you have even faux plants, they bring a liveliness with them. It brightens your bookshelf and make you look 100000x more amazing because you care about nature DUH.

 

 

Beautiful Bookshelf #4

Statuettes

I don’t always like figurines, but this also involves figurines. Anything glass, silver, gold, metal, wood, etc. that is carved into some sort of design has always charmed me. Carving has always been my favorite kind of art, the clay art and that sort of thing. I did study art not so long ago and it just feels gratifying to be making something with your hands, feeling it in your nails and your fingers, knowing you’re making something and feeling and shaping it–as much as I love the feeling of a Prismacolor in my hand, oil paints and clay will always be my favorite. So just all the animals. All of them.

 

 

Beautiful Bookshelf #5

Bowls/Vases

EVERYONE LOVES VASES. Glass vases, porcelain vases, anything with tiny stones and pretty details. I also love glass bowls and if they have anything in them like rice or flowers or just keychains or something–WHATEVER ITS STILL SO BEAUTIFUL. I don’t know why, people but all sorts of childhood things on their bookshelves but WHY NOT A BOWL WITH ALL OF YOUR BABY KEYCHAINS OR SOMETHING. Or a pacifier. I don’t know, I’m a sucker for pretty things. OH DO YOU GET IT AHAHAA VERY PUNNY.

File_000 (12)

Homework and other to-do list murders for you:

– Do you like bookshelf accessories? If so, what’s your favorite? Email me a picture of your bookshelf if you think it is somewhat decent enough to share because I’m redesigning my room (email: veda.k.pudi@gmail.com )

-Do you color code your bookshelves? Are they filled with books or are they more spacious? Do you have many books? Leave me with links to your T5W if you did it! xoxoxxoox ❤

Veda Blog Signature

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

