The Monthly Crown || June: Death By R+L=J And General GOT Love

Top Ten Tuesday (15).png

Eughghhh. I’m sorry about the late monthly review. I think I can successfully say that this month has been devoted to George R. R. Martin. R+L=J is on point and I’m dying now. I speculated so darn much, and this is how things are turning out. And if you don’t know what the theory is, I find you’ll be very confused because 60% of this blog post is going to be more about the Jon Snow of ice and fire than my actual month. Because I’m this close to dying, and I love Jon Snow. And also, GoT has taken over my mind.

I cannot even express, honestly, how ecstatic I am about this. I love Tyrion Lannister, and I love Jon Snow, and I love Daenerys Targaryen, and I pity Cersei Lannister because all of her children have died, and George R. R. Martin is a brilliant writer. The current wordstorm going on inside of my head revolves around ice and fire. 

File_002 (5)Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 2.02.51 PM
I used to watch Game of Thrones with some of my cousins, but I didn’t watch much. Then I started to read the books, and while my cousins proceeded to watch the show and spoil everything for me, I continued to read the books and therein know quite a bit about everything already. It’s painful, but incessant in entertainment. Aside from my Game of Thrones month where I’m catching up on everything again to prepare for the Winds of Winter (which comes out soon, I hope), I read a whole lot of light, binge books to accompany a Game of Thrones fever.Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 2.04.02 PM

Iqbal || 4 stars

So, honestly, this was a reread. It was one of the books I read earlier this year, and it was just such a passionate, beautiful tale that I had to read it again. It’s a very short story, but it’s wonderfully written and it brings out so many emotions. I hate the ending with a passion. It was justified, but it was very unfair. The whole story about the actual boy is very filled with wrongness and it just makes you respond with that incredulous statement: “Seriously?” It is a story that, without saying anything of, teaches about how privileged and unprivileged the people of this world are.

The Pushcart War || 4 stars

This was just SO. HILARIOUS. And yes, the Pushcart War is a very real war. I didn’t even know what it was, and it was recommended to me by someone who hadn’t read the book (actually, they asked me to read it to see what I thought of it) and I hadn’t even heard any hype or anything, but as soon as I started it, I loved it. It was just so creative, and the characters were marvelous with their dry humor and simplicity. It is the first time I have admired pushcart peddlers instead of their pushcart food.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda || 5 stars

Brilliant. Just brilliant. And as I’m straight, I don’t believe that my opinions (great as they maybe) of the LGBT aspects of the book are competent to influence my rating, and even if I had misliked those aspects, I would have given this book a high rating. The writing was warm and easy to read and enjoy, and the characters were so cute. I don’t say that about many people, forget book characters, so this should mean a lot. AND THOSE MOMENTS AT THE END?! I want an oreo.

The Young Elites || 4 stars

This was a reread, because I wanted to see if I would like it any better the second time around, but I didn’t. Marie Lu definitely did not please with her writing, and for this, I’m definitely shocked. The Legend trilogy got me in love with her writing, but I felt like for some reason her writing was super immature in this book and I could pick out a handful of errors. But everything else was much loved, especially Adelina being a character with a few more dark urges.

The Rose Society || 5 stars

And this one just blew me away. It knocked out any doubt I had of Marie Lu’s redemption over the Young Elites. The Young Elites depicted Adelina as a character who was shady and morally ambiguous, but the Rose Society, now that showed me what I’ve always wanted to read about. It showed me the mind of a villain. Adelina is undoubtedly (one of) the villain, but it can go both ways. Therefore it was more entertaining, because you didn’t completely know who was good and who was bad. AND THAT ENDING–It makes me hunger for the next book. And we all know what happens to villains–they either die/are defeated or turn good. AND I WANT NEITHER OF THOSE THINGS FOR ADELINA. So I suppose we’ll just have to see. 😉

Pride and Prejudice || 4 stars

Oh my gosh, this was actually great. I read it a year or two ago but this time around, I just loved it more. Usually I don’t find much reason to any singularly romance story because while falling in love is nice, it seems too stereotypical and boring to me by now (all the movies I’ve watched tho 😛 ) but P & P is just such a cute story. It wasn’t a pointless hate-to-love story (which annoy me to death), it made sense. Also Matthew Macfadyen as Mr. Darcy.

Red Queen || 3 stars

Oh darn it, I am rereading so much this month. That’s because it was a summery, warm, happy month and I wanted to give these books that I just disliked or felt to be average another chance. No, Red Queen ruined the second time around. I hated the characters, and the writing was phony and disappointing. The ending was the only thing that proved to be worth reading, and the twist in the plot was done entertainingly for a reader, but for a writer, something to laugh about. There was no buildup, there was no consistency, and there was no fluency between the plot lines.

A Game of Thrones || 4 stars

The only problem I had with this is that IT IS WAY TOO LONG. I could have counted out 150 (or even 200) pages of the book that just carried unnecessary detail. Detail is always wonderful when done right, but when it’s not related to the big idea and it’s very minute, the reader’s not going to remember it. Like going on about the clothing, the names of the knights (who, honestly, I just remember by Ser), minor character’s history, feelings characters are experiencing that’s just a bunch of guesswork, etc. OTHERWISE I LOVED IT OMG IT WAS BRILLIANT.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 2.04.19 PM200px-aclashofkings

READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. SPOILERS FOLLOW.

So I’m at the part where Tyrion decides to take Shae to the palace because people are uprising in King’s Landing and NOTHING IS SAFE. I’m sort of almost hoping that Jaime Lannister dies, and knowing that Sansa will die too if he does. I don’t care about Sansa Stark; she wanted ‘Joff! My prince, Joff!” And now dearest Joff is finally giving what she wants. There you go, Sansa Stark. Valar Morghulis. All men must die. All pretty ladies must learn that looks can deceive. Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 2.05.22 PM

The Star Touched Queen

by Roshani Chokshi

Me Before You

by Jojo Moyes

Vicious

by V.E. Schwab

The Young Elites
The Rose Society

by Marie Lu

Cruel Beauty

by Rosamund Hodge

A Game of Thrones

by George R. R. Martin

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

by Becky Albertalli

File_001 (4)

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 2.01.28 PMMemes:

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love Magic In Books

Top Five Wednesday: Anticipated Book Settings

Top Five Wednesday

Awards/Tags:

Rip It Or Ship It Book Tag With Slightly More Shipping Than Expected

Discussion Posts:

A Maniacal Guide to Blogging: From an Amateur to an Amateur

The History Of Female Lead Characters From Elizabeth Darcy To Aelin Galathynius

fullsizerender-3

That was my June! How was yours?

What was your favorite book that you read in June? What was the highlight of your month?Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 5.17.20 PM

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

