Books That I Particularly Liked All The While Being Unacquainted With The Genre

Give Me A (2)

Honestly, I wasn’t too sure about doing this T5W because I’m a complete YA fantasy nerd and YA sci-fi geek. I usually don’t read much outside of those genres, because books outside of those genres don’t exactly attract me. Occasionally, I’ll read a contemporary, but that’s only when there’s a lot of good hype around it, on the contrary of when I go out searching for every fantasy YA there is.

If I’m not reading a YA fantasy or a sci-fi, then I’ll probably be reading a contemporary, but since I’ve only read a couple handfuls of contemporary, I consider that to be unusual too. It’s just that fantasy & sci-fi, being more packed with action, thrill, and mystery call to me more than any kind of romance or semi-realistic story. It’s always nice to read a light, binge read, but I still seem to prefer things where people die more.

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 12.21.45 PM

I will be linking up to Top Five Wednesday for this post, because it’s Wednesday, and this is a top five post. Top Five Wednesday is an original meme that has been created by Lainey over from Gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes which is actually a pretty cool booktube name. THE TOME. THE TOME GNOME GNOME.

You just have to write a post that follows the prompt and you list five answers of your choice. Five or six or eight or four. Something close to five. Presumably five. Then you make sure that you put the link for Sam and Lainey in your post and then explore/comment feverishly on ever other Top Five Wednesday you can find. File_001 (3)

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 12.27.16 PM.png

1. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

A Game of Thrones is Adult Epic Fantasy

134961I guess this would have always been first on the list. GoT was an all-around amazing book, excepting for the fact that it was huge and very daunting. I don’t usually ever read adult fantasy, but the whole storyline following the claims for the throne and the new government that had overthrown the Targaryens was very captivating and entertaining. It was enough to make me overlook all of the explicit romance and expletives.

 

2. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is YA Contemp./LGBT

19547856I’m going to consider this a LGBT book because I already have another contemporary book on the list and I’m trying not to reuse genres (insert upside down smiley face emoji). Honestly, though, I was shocked by how good this book was just for a debut! It was hilarious and light and normal, and it was definitely a very cute story (mind you, I don’t identify many things/people as ‘cute’ at all).

 

3. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Duology by Jenny Han

The To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Duology is YA Contemp./romance

I consider these books to be more of a romance than a contemporary, but nevertheless I loved it. I did read Twilight a good while book, and while the first book was enjoyable, the following three were perhaps the worst books I’ve ever read. Ever. So it was kind of hard to go back and read another book that was so clearly about romance based on the title and the cover and the overview. However, these two books blew my expectations and had me rushing through all sorts of emotions. They were brilliant. My admirations to Jenny Han.

 

4. The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

The Westing Game is YA mystery

71mt0ceuanl1Oh, wow. I read the Westing Game a couple years ago at the same time my sister (haha not really) Neha did. I think this is the one thing we both agree on: The Westing Game was super thrilling. There was so many twists, and there were so many layers to the plot that the book got me really thinking about everything. In the end, it completely surprised me with very unique logic and clever conclusion. I definitely consider it to be one of the greatest books I’ve ever read.

 

5. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Made You Up is YA contemp./mental illness

17661416I don’t read many books about mental illness because I find them generally hard to relate to and understand. When there are elements in a book that I can relate to, it makes the book more understandable and enjoyable. So I was surprised when I ended up liking Made You Up. Honestly, the only reason I read it was because Cait loved it, and since she is the ultimate book devourer, I trust her opinion. I went into Made You Up with a lot of doubts, but I read through it so fast that I had to admit I enjoyed it. It was light, and fresh, and filled with very secondary romance, and real thrill.

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 3.56.51 PM

Untitled design (13)

Those are some of the books I loved that were definitely outside of my comfort zone! Did you do a Top5W?

What are some books that you loved that are of a genre that you don’t normally read?

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 5.17.20 PM

13 thoughts on “Books That I Particularly Liked All The While Being Unacquainted With The Genre

  1. I’m so happy that yoou liked GOT even if it was out of your comfort zone. I think that’s an epic fantasy series, a little intimidating but they worth it.
    I just discovered your blog and I’m in love with it x

    1. It is intimidating, but it’s really an amazing book. It’s so LONG, though! That’s the same thing with all of them; I’m on A Clash of Kings and I’ve decided that I’m just going to read them as all as ebooks because actually looking at them is super scary 😂😂

      Oh Eliza, thank you sm, that means a lot to me ☺️ LYSM 💝

  2. Your blog is like. SO PRETTY IM DYING OMGG EYE CANDY QUALITYY !! HAHA ❤ And Im happy that you get to read books out of your comfort zone!! 😀 I have to give GoT a try T_T Im too scared to start it! – Trang

    1. Omg boo 😳 really? Aww thank you sm, that’s so sweet of you. AND CAN WE BE REAL HERE YOUR BLOG IS GORGEOUS PRIZE WORTHY. Practically my idol blogger ☺️ I’ve been reading more out of fantasy, and it’s been great! TRANG YOU HAVE TO READ A GAME OF THRONES. It’s long and it makes sense to be scared of it, but the story is spectacular. Ily 💜

  3. I had a hard time in the past going out of my comfort zone so I know how you feel, but now, this year especially, I’ve gone more out of my comfort zone than I stayed in it !

    Also, I definitely agree with you thought on Simon Vs, it’s so normal and cute, ah I love that book.

    1. I totally agree, Emma! In the past, I didn’t think that I would enjoy anything outside of fantasy and sci-fi, but in the span of late 2915 and most of 2016 so far, I’ve really been reading more contemporary. Simon vs. tHSA is probably one of the best contemporary I’ve read so far. It’s just so light and easy to read, as opposed to humongous fantasy books 😂

      1. I’m the opposite, I loved fantasy and mythology when I was younger but then last year I read 90% contemporaries (Simon being my favourite) but this year I’m getting more into fantasy again, which I’m super happy about !!

      2. Woah, I was just introduced to contemporaries by late 2015! Simon vs tHSA is pretty great if it’s your favorite contemporary out of all the contemporaries you read last year. So it makes sense that right now I think it’s the cutest book ever. Fantasy is a really awesome genre, I love all of the magic and the mythology and the supernatural elements to it 🙃

      3. Yeah hahaha I like to think of myself as an expert contemporary person, but Simon was the best I’ve read. Some other good ones are Every Last Word, Extraordinary Means and Finding Audrey 😀

      4. hahahaahahaa the only one I’ve heard of those three is Finding Audrey! Hopefully when I read some more contemporary I’ll know more names 😂 I want to read so many contemp. books but the fantasy books on my TBR are just higher up on the list because I’m an addict 😳 Ily 💝

    1. It is really unique, isn’t it? A Game of Thrones is spectacular though, even though it is Adult epic fantasy. LY Deanna! 🙃 (btw I’m so happy for you moving to anovelglimpse.com! 😊)

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

