Places I Like To See Books Set In Because Too Much US and Europe has been going on || Top Five Wednesday

top ten reasons

The Mortal Instruments, Percy Jackson, The Dark Artifices, Harry Potter, The Infernal Devices, All the Light We Cannot See–you name it, the book’s probably set in the US or Europe. And if it’s not, chances are, the book is set in Canada or Australia. Which is entirely very scarce, so I’ve come up with some bang-up places (or mostly areas) I would like more books to be set in.

And mind you, I know the list doesn’t stop at this planet/solar system/galaxy/universe. 65% of YA books, if not set in this world, are in a made-up realm. The whole Throne of Glass realm seems a little completely based off of Game of Thrones, and so you have Erilea and Wendlyn and Adarlan and Terrasen and places like that. You also have things from Game of Thrones: Essos, Westeros, Asshai, Qarth, Yi Ti, etc. This 65%  is very prominent, so I’ll be coming with a few THIS-WORLD-LY settings because I can’t think of any unknown made-up realms off the top of my mind right now. I’ve only ever designed three.

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 12.21.45 PM

I will be linking up to Top Five Wednesday for this post, because it’s Wednesday, and this is fairly evident. Top Five Wednesday is an original meme that has been created by Lainey over from Gingerreadslainey and I believe, if I am not wrong, that is now run by someone else?  It is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes which is actually a pretty cool booktube name. THE TOME. THE TOME GNOME GNOME.

This is fairly simple. You join up with the Goodreads group so you get all of their lovely updates on the prompts for the month. Then when the day comes, you make a post that follows the prompt and you list five answers of your choice. Five or six or eight or four. Something close to five. Presumably five. Then you make sure that you put the link for Sam and Lainey in your post and then explore/comment feverishly on ever other Top Five Wednesday you can find. THE TOME GNOME GNOME TOME.

Congrats Sam. I love your booktube name.File_002 (5)
Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 6.10.27 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-06-29 at 6.09.45 PM.png1. Space

Oh, just like the Lunar Chronicles. I swear, that series was perfect even if it was located mostly on this planet. I mean, every time Cinder and her crew would get on a airship and fly right into space to hack Luna, the whole ‘space’ aspect of it was described hella amazingly. Very minute and short, but the words Meyer uses are incredible. And so me being a sci-fi addict just as much as a fantasy nerd would definitely appreciate a good story about more crazy space people like the Lunars or a definite thriller about space travel. JUST GIMME THE STARS BBY.

63114main_highway_med
Space highways are genius ideas. NASA DESERVES ANOTHER AWARD.

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 6.04.31 PM.png2. Desert

Legit errthang is in cities now, and I’m all up over here wondering why no one loves ranches and cows and cowgirls and cowboys from Georgia and Texas and Arizona and New Mexico and old Mexico too probably. I want to see people living in a country area, more rural than urban, with suburbs and big homes and murders. OR EVEN GIVE ME A DESERT. I’m fine with that. Actually, I’m ecstatic about it.

The Assassin’s Blade gave us all a good kick with the Assassin and the Red Desert. I mean, that was amazing! That was my absolute favorite story next to Assassin and the Pirate Lord. It was wonderful because of the express detail and the realism of the desert and the oasis where the assassins trained. I would read about a desert any day, because I’M NOT A TARGARYEN. I LOVE DRAGONS. BUT I AM A STARK AND I LOVE ICE AND SABERTOOTH TIGERS. I also like Winter better than Summer?

So I’ll be extra pleased with just the illusion of heat rather than actually experiencing it.

pt33

File_001 (5)

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 6.05.19 PM.png3. Riverside/Oceanside

I am a daughter of Poseidon. Bro, I love the rivers. I love looking at the ocean, i love getting sand in my swimsuit–I’m an ocean person. And so I’m definitely looking for a nice book that focuses more on the ocean and the rivers, and is maybe set on the shore or the beach. I WANT THINGS TO ACTUAL REVOLVE AROUND THE SETTING, THE OCEAN. I want there to be mermaid battles, and seaweed wars and dozens of archipelagos and actual oceanic elements that make up the story. I don’t want anything to just be set on a beach and have characters going into the city daily to make the story interesting. Give me a storyline that will involve the setting of the story. Make it relevant, and it will increase the impact of your story. 

If you can actually plan out how the setting of your novel will affect the storyline majorly, and you aren’t just placing the characters wherever you want, it makes you look like a darn
good writer.

–Click on the pictures so you can really see them–

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 6.05.41 PM.png4. Wilderness

I love retellings, so I think centering a book in the wilderness could make for a very interesting retelling or story in general. Pocahontas, maybe, and she didn’t belong to a tribe of savage corn-stabbing uncivilized warriors. No, she belonged to a group of people that were entirely rural, intelligent, and sustainable.  The wilderness is a beautiful thing, and if people are willing to write real stories about it, then they would be mind-blowing. There are so many cool places in the wild. I mean–forgotten temples, isolated villages, remains of ancient weaponry–IT IS JUST HONEST-TO-GOD INCREDIBLE.

maya-temple-jaguar

File_000 (9)

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 6.06.47 PM.png5. Ancient Civilizations

THIS IS BLOWING MY LIST AWAY. IT’S JUST AMAZING. I had to put this in one spot all together. I love Ancient Civilizations. I WANT TO SEE MORE OF BABYLON, MORE OF THE AZTEC EMPIRE, ANCIENT INDIA, ANCIENT EGYPT, ANCIENT AFRICANS, the whole deal. I’m not talking about history or wars, the kingdoms and the people and the wealth and the whole culture is just beautiful. I want to see Babylon and the people of Babylon. I want to see the Hanging Gardens. I want to see the pyramids. I want to see all of it. This would honestly make the most interesting story ever, allowing a lot of space for great characters and amazing scenery.

hith-hanging-gardens-of-babylon-e

File_003 (6)Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 3.57.37 PM

That’s it for my Top Five Wednesday!

Did you do a Top Five Wednesday? What settings do you want to see more of in books?Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 5.17.20 PM

5 thoughts on “Places I Like To See Books Set In Because Too Much US and Europe has been going on || Top Five Wednesday

  1. It’s funny that so many people mention at least some of these (actually, my list looks very similar: https://maginibooks.wordpress.com/2016/06/29/top-5-wednesday-settings-you-want-to-see-more-of/) and yet we’re still getting the same setting. Even if the book is good it’s slowly starting to get boring.

    I’m guessing it’s because most of the books we’re getting come from US or EU writers, therefore the setting are closer to something they know about already.

    1. Your list is really cool, Magda. I like islands a lot, it would be really nice to see a book set in an archipelago, and since so many books are set in Europe and US, it would be a surprise to lots of readers to read about islands. There aren’t many books about islands.
      I do agree, even though the book is really good, the setting is often so common and typical that it can ruin a book’s impact. I bet you, your guess is right. Most of the writers today are from the US, and if they’re not, they’re from the UK. That explains why most of the books are only set in the UK and the US. 🙂

  2. Nice roundup Veda. I’d love to read ancient civilization setting too. A good period novel would be great.

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

