My Reasons For Brainwashing You To Love Magic In Books || Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (14)

Words I like: Reasons, Inspire, FLOWERS FLOWERS FLOWERS, more to come. Anyway, today since I am trying to be a consistent garbanzo bean (somewhat) I’ve decided that I must do my TTT today rather than my monthly review, which I’m a little more scarce with. So I’m going to tell you await my monthly review of May tomorrow or day after. Ha, sorry! This month, I will give you a monthly review on the last day of June, rather than wait till June 8/9. Haha, I’m not even sure anyone really expected me to get my monthly review across on time. But just look for that. Okay? Okay.

I’m going to be talking about why I love magic in books, because of the prompt of today’s TTT. I swear I will brainwash all of you, but then when I think about it, you might not be willing to step away from sci-fi or contemp. or whatever so I decided I will brainwash you. That and I’m sure THOUSANDS OF YOU ALREADY LOVE MAGIC. I love magic in books because I’m a fantasy nerd, and I’m sure magic isn’t just exclusive to spells. I’M TALKING ANYTHING ABNORMAL THAT MAKES STRANGE THINGS HAPPEN. Sort of like a cuckoo clock. Rawr.

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 12.21.17 PM

So this will be my TTT for today! It was actually pretty interesting because it required me to THINK. And I did with like zero time to do it, so I’m going to read it and shock with my rush. I’ll be linking up to another Top Ten Tuesday for this one! This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is Ten Reasons I Love X.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. It’s also the most popular meme on the blogosphere, for book blogs. To do a TTT, it’s pretty simple. You have to get on the blog and get the prompt. Then you write a blog post about ten things of your choice that answer the prompt. It doesn’t have to be ten. It can be six. Or eight. Or 14. Or 17. Around ten. Because ‘ten’ sounds the nicest. Then you link up to their blog on your blog post and make cute little graphics and explore other people’s TTT’s and then get jealous of their cute graphics, because everyone here is an artist. Obviously.

fullsizerender 3-1

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 5.18.18 PM.png1. IT USUALLY INTRODUCES YOU TO SOMETHING NEW

That always happens, right? I mean, if you are going to read a book with magical elements in it, you are reading one out of a million. There’s a lot of books with magic in them for fantasy nerds like me who love magic.
And so no publisher would ever publish any of these million books if they didn’t have something new, originally, and fresh about them.

Like, please, these people called writers and publishers want fame and success and of course they love writing blah blah blah.
But the books with magic that are published have something new about them each time so you MUST LEARN MY HERBIT CRAB BECAUSE THIS IS NEW TERRITORY FOR YOU COME OUT OF YOUR SHELL.

2. IT’S ALWAYS MORE THRILLING

I think this stands on it’s own, somewhat.
MAGIC IS MAGIC AND MAGIC IS BRILLIANT.
Any battle with magic, if you compare normal fictional action in books and fantasy action with MUCH ADORNED MAGICAL SPELLS LIKE AVADA KEDAVRA BECAUSE THERE YOU GO THAT’S MY GRYFFINDOR HONOR TO SLYTHERIN PRIDE is always super thrilling.
It’s because, when you read about something that’s so abnormal, something you could never do, something sparks in you where you want to know MORE and suddenly it becomes that much more wonderful and thrilling.

fullsizerender 4-1

3. MAGIC MEANS MORE UNNATURAL THINGS WHICH ARE INTERESTING

These are obviously so basic, but I think it is pretty evident. WHEN YOU READ ABOUT MAGICAL STUFF YOU ARE INTRODUCED TO COOLER THINGS.
Scary things, probably.
But cooler too, yes? Yes, and you know why?
BECAUSE THEY ARE MAGICAL. That was the last time I was going to answer my own question.

4. IT MAKES YOUR MIND THINK TO WRAP AROUND MAGICAL THINGS LIKE CUCKOO CLOCKS

It’s very true. When you read about magical things, they are always something new because as I said before, they’ll be new unless you are reading fanfic or a really crappy first draft of a book.
Actually, I don’t think I said that before.
But whatever.
Magic makes you think, which is sometimes why it is so enjoyable in books. Sure you might read a nice contemporary book and love it because it’s so nice, but when you are reading a real complex book with magic, you will always be discovering new things about the story. IT STRETCHES YOUR BRAIN FOLKS. THAT’S WHY I HAVE A BIG HEAD. BECAUSE IT IS STUFFED WITH COTTON CANDY ALSO.

fullsizerender 2

5. IT MAKES UP A LOT OF POWERFUL YA CHARACTERS

Aelin, Harry Potter (YA ish?), GANSEY GANSEY GANSEY, Hermione, Rowan, Tessa, Clary, WILLIAM HERONDALE, Jace, Cinder, Winter, other.
All these people have and use magic, and they are some of the greatest characters I’ve ever read. Ever. Even though that’s not saying much. But really, magic has made some of our favouritest YA characters.

CAN I GET A PERCY JACKSON AKA MY BROTHER THE OTHER MAGIC USER IN OUR FAMILY BESIDES ME AND DAD.
All these figures you grow up with and love later in other books, they all have a touch of magic to them, and that’s what makes them so prominent.

6. MAGIC OFTEN INSPIRES YOU TO DO DANGEROUS AND CRAZY THINGS

Well, at least it does for me. After rereading a real nice Harry Potter book or the Heroes of Olympus, it never leaves you with that tingly feeling of contentedness or happiness like a contemporary or such.
It leaves you with motivation, with a bang, and it leaves you wanting more and wanting to change things. It leaves you thinking about the world and broader things and it really stretches your tiny pumpkin like brain cells.

Magic inspires and changes people. Whether to jump off a cliff, or write your own perfect, perfect book full of magic and intensity and thrill, and all over generosity towards me and my aching desire for magic, it is still inspirational. It inspires you.

fullsizerender-3

7. BOOKS WITH MAGIC ALWAYS HAVE POWERFUL MORALS

It’s not like a children’s book full of stories and fables with talking flies and logs of wood that teach you to be humble and teach you humility and honesty and other characteristics starting with H.
Books with magic always have loss and intense feeling and thrill and idea and love and wonder and all over characters who are so imperfect and changing. Books with magic give us all of reality with more, with a touch of more. Like Blue who is a tree thing, books give you so much realness with something more. With something magical.

They always teach us things. All books teach you things. But from my experience and perspective, they teach you the deepest. Magic is a word that everybody has heard and so many people think simple of. This little, very conventional topic can provide the deepest feelings, stories, morals, and people.

8. IT INTRODUCES YOU TO BELIEVING IN SOMETHING YOU CAN’T SEE, HEAR, OR FEEL BECAUSE YOU MIGHT BE A MUGGLE

You might be a muggle. You never know. But all of us here, the ones who have never read a book with magic in it, they won’t first get why I am all these things that I say, a daughter of Poseidon, a witch, a Shadowhunter.
No one will ever automatically believe in something thought of commonly just as gobbledygook. That’s because since the world now is so modern and scientific and proven and factual, there is no space for a little belief and magic. So reading a book with the magic that you can never see, you can never hear, you can never feel, and generally sense makes it hard to persuade you into enjoying the book. But that’s what words do, especially in these kind of book.
They make you believe.

Reading magical books has led me to believe in magical things. Reading books with magic in them has led me to believe.

fullsizerender 2-1

9. MORE THAN HALF THE TIME IT CAN BRING THE BEST EMOTIONS OUT OF US

Have you ever read a book with so much loveliness in it that it made you cry? I’m sure you have. Just like how when I discuss something this deep for me, my mind automatically begins writing a contest speech.
I’M SURE YOU HAVE.
Sometimes when you read a book that you really love, it will do things to you. Just like books with magic inspire you, they also bring the best and worst emotions out of you. They reveal you.

Succumbing to the raw power of what words can do to you causes change. It also causes emotions. Words cause emotions. And more than that, when they carry a concept so rich and complex but still so easy like magic, they make your brain think, and your heart work, and they just make your feelings feel.

10. MORE ACTION MORE POWER MORE ZANY PEOPLE MORE WONDER MORE LOVELINESS IN GENERAL

AHAHAHAHAHAHAAA. It’s true. In any book with one heck of a magical action sequence, there’s a heck of a lot more of everything with more more more. More is on the list of one of my favorite words now, because it obviously is.

In books with magic, I’ve found there’s always more tension and more feeling and more thrill, so all of that pent up intensity will always lead to a magical showdown with lots of brilliant mental and physical action. If you’ve ever read a book of Cassandra Clare’s, you’ll really understand what a showdown is.

There’s more power, because since everyone has magic, the antagonists are triply powerful and the protagonists are quadruply powerful as a normal human being. BUT THESE PEOPLE AREN’T. These abnormal people have such wonderful personalities and differences and it captures me, how they are always so fittingly quirky. How they are normal but not normal. HOW HALF OF THEM ARE ZANY BECAUSE MAGIC RUINS YOUR SENSE OF PROPERNESS AND SANITY.

There’s more of everything. And it’s even more for the reader. There’s more thrill and there’s more emotion and more wonder and more revelations and even more wonder and curiosity. These books make your mind think. They make your mind spin. They enthrall you, and they make you wonder and really think about everything. They make you a deeper person mentally and emotionally and they make you want to be a magician and pull doves out of your sleeves.

In all simplicity, books with magic are some of the greatest.Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 8.09.03 PMimg_3145

So there you get my TTT for this week! Do you like magic in books?

See, since all of society is now so factual and superficial about magic, you should read books with magic and find out exactly why you need to BELIEVE in the things that you have never directly seen to be there. Not believing in magic is what happens people grow up. SO BASICALLY NEVER GROW UP. LIKE PETER PAN. Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 5.17.20 PM

What is a really good book with magic that you’ve read? What are some of your favorite characters that have and use magic? Have you ever written your own book because you got inspired after reading another book? Have you read the Raven King yet? It is perfect magic/dead-king glory. And finally, do you believe in magic?
4 thoughts on “My Reasons For Brainwashing You To Love Magic In Books || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I also love magic in books, especially when they’re inventive and completely original! That’s quite rare, unfortunately, but I’ll take what I can get. The action is great too. 😛

    1. Yes, I love reading about magic! It’s hard to find something new nowadays, because authors are going drunk on all-powerful otherworldly stunning characters. I’m just waiting until something new and way better comes up. And action is always great in any book, when it’s done right. 🙂

  2. I agree with most everything on this list. Fantasy books (most of which have magic in them) are my favorite things to read. It’s funny how a made-up world with made-up characters can have such an impact on me, personally. Harry Potter was all magic, and the trio were three of the most inspiring ‘people’ in my life as I was growing up. 😀 Oh, the power of reading.

    1. I’m a fantasy nerd, and fantasy books are the sole reason I grew to love books and start making them a part of lifestyle. Harry Potter especially drove me to read more as a child, it’s like the one thing that I have consistently reread considering my favorite books. The fictional world and the fictional characters became so real to me, that I started believing in Hogwarts and everything, and when I didn’t get my letter at 11, I was like “well, I don’t live in the UK so obviously they don’t send letters to people overseas” 😂 Even to this day I tick my friends off by quoting Harry Potter–it’s definitely left a lasting impact on me 💝 Ly

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

