My Signature Bookish Theme Songs Because Spotify And Books Are A Match Made In Heaven || Top Five Wednesday

Top Ten Tuesday (10)

I speak of only the truth. Usually, especially when its rainy out, I will curl up in bed with a woolly blanket, my earbuds plugged into my iPad on Spotify, begin a playlist and start reading. I’m obsessed with Spotify. Then I proceed on to completely tune out my music while reading. Or I’ll hum. It really seems to depend on the book and my mind and the presence of rain in the background.

For example, it’s flooding right now where I live. So what have I just done? Got off of reading A Dance With Dragons which is just so long, that I’m just going to procrastinate. Unless it rains. Which both of aforementioned things (rain, and the entirely unnecessary thousand something pgs. of A Dance With Dragons)  are in no way related to bookish theme songs.

Hmm.

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 12.21.45 PM

I will be linking up to Top Five Wednesday for this post, because it’s Wednesday, and this is fairly evident. Top Five Wednesday is an original meme that has been created by Lainey over from Gingerreadslainey and I believe, if I am not wrong, that is now run by someone else? I will now proceed on to hurriedly hunt the internet for the new host/ess.

Ah! It is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes which is actually a pretty cool booktube name. THE TOME. THE TOME GNOME GNOME.

This is fairly simple. You join up with the Goodreads group so you get all of their lovely updates on the prompts for the month. Then when the day comes, you make a post that follows the prompt and you list five answers of your choice. Five or six or eight or four. Something close to five. Then you make sure that you put the link for Sam and Lainey in your post and then explore/comment feverishly on ever other Top Five Wednesday you can find. ACHOO.Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 8.22.36 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-31 at 6.34.25 PMOh my god. Every time I read the Mortal Instruments or the Infernal Devices or Cassandra Clare’s to-do list or practically anything that woman has written. Maybe not her to-do list, because that might involve other things that are not related to steles, killing, and Shadowhunters, but otherwise, I’m all ears.

I guess maybe it’s because of all of the gruesome violence that has been going on lately in all of these YA books with heads and limbs and threats of other parts being chopped off. But the gruesomeness of it all, usually accompanied by the sickeningly confusing love triangle (or in the case of Throne of Glass, love pentagon) that must be signature to each story. I feel like the lyrics perfectly convey how whatever popular phase the writers are going through with bad boys is represented in all of this.

But aside from that, please be a little more realistic. I think we all have loved an Imagine Dragons song before, whether it be Demons, Warriors (zomg), RADIOACTIVE, or anything else. IMAGINE ZEE DRAGON. Be one with dragon. Be Daenerys. Do not melt.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 6.34.48 PMJOKES ON ME. I don’t even listen to Ariana Grande that much. Sure, I like Problem and I like Focus like every other Western person of ever. Well, like the majority of every Western person of ever. Ariana Grande is a statement of life. How before I said that there is more gruesome violence in pretty much every YA book now, there is also more vulgarity and romance. Sure, romance.

“So baby, come light me up and maybe I’ll let you on it
A little bit dangerous, but baby, that’s how I want it
A little less conversation, and a little more touch my body
Cause I’m so into you, into you, into you
Got everyone watchin’ us, so baby, let’s keep it secret
A little bit scandalous, but baby, don’t let them see it
A little less conversation and a little more touch my body
Cause I’m so into you, into you, into you, oh yeah”

And believe me, there is nothing that says Jace Herondale in City of Lost Souls than Into You, trust me. Among other characters. I believe this is a good description of how Rowan Whitethorn decides to behave in Sheen of Quadows. I think it reflects many book characters lately, if not the book itself. I dislike how books are flowing away from the main point and good vs. bad because I’m a classic and I love good vs. bad but with mystery. Now it’s just a point of whose clothes go off first after ripping someone’s limb right off.

Dang, the only good music video Ariana Grande could ever make is Focus. This video right here is somewhat nasty.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 6.35.30 PMRight now, I am literally playing all my Spotify playlists down the row. Like, I am just listening to song after song multiple times. And then these songs play because my Tori Kelly playlist is firing up 😀 . Anyway, I’ll do one at a time. I did compile these two because they’re both Tori Kelly, and it’s a way for me to cheat and put in an extra song because I’m entirely clever like that.

Should’ve Been Us is the song to every love triangle ever. I think it was Dorian’s song for a while, right after Celaena was out with him and in with Chaol. Not that I didn’t like her choice, right??! Then it was June after the days of Champion when the only thing that existed was IS THERE A SEQUEL and oh no TEARS TEARS TEARS. I’m being thoroughly emphatic, pardons. But I think it should’ve matched any love triangle that comes with tears. And you know what saddens me the most? This song was even Will Herondale’s for a while. Well, in his heart. He cared far too much for Jem to actually allow himself to think it. OH WILLLLLLLLL I AM PHK FOR THIS VERY REASON.

Then Nobody Love. Hm. It’s just so anthem-y, and so allegiance-y. It’s like when I pledge my undying allegiance every morning to the flag. It’s like when Tobias and Tris implicitly pledge their allegiance to each other but they don’t know one of ‘each other’ is going to be dead. Sorry. No spoilers. I feel like this is the best kind of love anthem ever, because it’s sweet, and it’s definitely a great song. It’s so light hearted and fun, and so naturally I will pair it with Jace and Clary and Jon Snow and Ygritte and Daenerys and whoever comes next, because truly, ain’t nobody love.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 6.36.35 PMAh, this one was always going to be here. The Fight Song is something everyone will think to when they read all these incredible darn fighter girls out here being the protagonists of every book. Tris. Katniss. And Aelin, because if Aelin isn’t one of them fighters then I don’t even know who be a real renegade, because Aelin is one of the toughest ladies I’ve ever come across in my book escapades. OH AND EMMA CARSTAIRS. IT’S NICE TO SEE A REAL FIGHTER COME OUT OF A VIOLIN PLAYING CARSTAIRS. Oh, it’s on, let’s go. Let’s go at it. I am a rebel. And Rachel Platten is seriously the vocalist of time.

The Fight Song is one of the catchiest songs you’ll probably ever hear. Then you’ll think it’s annoying, go to Target because you ran out of jewelry glue, and then buy some sandals and sunglasses with your jewelry glue, and then this song will come on, and you’ll be like “I know this song. I know it. I’m dope like that.” And everyone will avert their eyes when you start dancing to the very catchily, annoying Fight Song. Let’s bring on a wrestler, then, if you would. BWAHAHAHHAAA.

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 6.37.59 PMWe’ve reached the end, o faithful mushrooms. One day I will compile a list of my favorite words which will involve ‘popcorn kernels’, ‘mushrooms’, ‘pumpkins’, ‘Sheen of Quadows’, ‘ducklings’, ‘cabbage’, ‘lemons’, and ‘wingardium leviosa’. But evidently that is not the matter at hand right now. Since I’m one to not be concise when I need not be concise, I’ll tell you all about how amazing the Hall of Fame is.

Literally, I swear, everyone must have heard this song atleast once. It’s so viral and everywhere and common but not new. The music…just the musical quality of it is wonderful. And the lyrics are definitely one of the most hard-put, motivational words I’ve ever heard in a song in a very long time. I think it’ll definitely be a good handle for some of these hard-fighting characters. I can point out a few. HARRY POTTER DEAR HARRY POTTER MY BRETHREN. Hermione Granger. LUNA LOVEGOOD. Louisa Clark from Me Before You, which I loved, by the way, and I await the movie.

These characters and several more have employed the words in this song in their life, have exemplified ‘standing in the hall of fame’, and many more motivational lyrics, like ‘you can be the greatest, you can be the best’. A lot of characters in YA recently have been designed with murderously savage backgrounds, and so with pasts like this, with abuse and loss of parents, and exclusion, rising up and fighting back has been one of the biggest themes I’ve seen in YA in a while. So therein I thin the Hall of Fame can only be the best bookish theme song I will ever listen to in a good while.

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 8.09.03 PM

That’s my Top Five Wednesday for this week! What did you think?

Have you heard any of these songs before? Which song is your favorite? Are there any songs on here that you had on your list? Have you heard Hall of Fame? Besides ‘bookish theme songs’, what is your favorite song? What about your favorite singer? I sure hope you do. Leave me a link to your T5W if you did it!Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 5.17.20 PM

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

