Dim Sum Book Tag || The Necessary Acquisition Of Dim Sum And Pie In Life

Heir of fire book reviewaelin&Rowanand otherlovely things..png

To begin with, let me thank Raven from Dreamy Addictions for tagging me to do the Dim Sum Book Tag. And then on my second note, let me tell you how I am enjoying exploring my new partiality to simpler, more vintage-y (I think) style.

I want pie. This should be a well-known fact to the universe by now. I. WANT. LEMON. MERINGUE. PIE. And I want to try dim sum, which I’ve never tried before. BUT. I am a vegetarian, and I hear Chinese food is big on meats, so I’ll die inside tempting for all the vegetarian options here. Try dim sum. And pie. They are a compulsory part of life and dinner and dessert and every other meal of the day.

The Dim Sum Book Tag is the brainchild book tag of Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @Reading With Jenna. I love brainchild book tags because I applaud anyone who does their own tag, and Joey and Jenna are amazing. Joey especially. Because he’s really funny. And Jenna. Because she’s the best at being a Jenna.

SO. What is dim sum? Dim Sum is a Chinese dish of small portions of fried dumplings, I guess, with different fillings, served as a snack and often with tea. (Which, for some reason, I wanted to spell as pea. I don’t want dim sum with pea, thank you.)

THE RULES: 

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum, include the rules, and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma

Tea: A book that started off hot but quickly turned cold:

16096824YUM YUM. Tea is spectacular, and you know what? Chai tea, especially. I suppose my ethnicity should make me native to chai tea, but I still can’t make chai tea. STILL. Though it tastes REALLY GOOD. I can make, like, water tea with those packets, but not this. Every time I have to pour in the chia seeds and they sizzle, I sort of jump six feet away.

But. Ahem. My inability to add chia seeds to chai tea or perfunctorily make chai tea is irrelevant. I suppose…ACOTAR. Yep, I’m sorry ACOTAR lovers, and I haven’t read ACOMAF yet but I’ve heard great things about it and I intend to read it soon, hoping it’ll develop on EVERYTHING. Just like Crown of Midnight, I suppose. And I’m a Maas fangirl that way, I compare everything ACOTAR to the Throne of Glass series, so ACOMAF has got some tough competition.

But seriously, though. Let me be concise for a (very impossible) moment. ACOTAR started spectacularly, and I was expecting all the ‘pang!’ and ‘slash!’ and blood and tears and glory and guts and love as would be normal in all of the Throne of Glass books, but this one started off okay and really ended up strangely. I guess that I was just expecting so much and I read the beginning and I went it to it, and slumped midway and then the ending was a little lifting, but not much. I guess it did have to follow perfect fairy tale order. I also guess that I should not promise to be concise when I evidently cannot.

Chiu Chow Dumpling: A book that features elements of land and sea:

I DON’T KNOW. Possibly…Below by Meg McKinlay? It wasn’t a great book; it was rather boring and it lagged, but I remember reading this some time ago and I guess that, yes, it did have elements of land and water. I mean, below, the name, implies it all.

15841904

Rice Noodle Roll: A favorite multi-layered character you’ve read (i.e. Traits? Skills?Morally Ambiguous?)

I suppose a good example of this is Ronan Lynch from the Raven Cycle. By the way, I love Maggie Stiefvater. She is my wordly savior. I didn’t like the Wolves of Mercy Falls at all, okay, that series was not great, but the RAVEN CYCLE GAWRSH. Heh, this is what I live for, honestly.

Can I ask you something, Miss Maggie Stiefvater and every other being in this world regardless of their aliveness or deadness? Why is Ronan so perfect?

Characters like Ronan Lynch whose history is so complicated and tragic and merciless, and I honestly want to hold Ronan and cry sometimes. BUT. But, the way he is, with his frequent relentless swearing and his coping to everything with a curse or a punch and his violence and physical emotion and outwardly otherness.

I’m on the Raven King right now, and I just got to that part with Ronan and…I WON’T SAY IT BECAUSE I DIED FROM SHIPPING TOO MUCH and was just so happy and satisfied and I was like, now it’s Blue! BLUESY FOREVER. ALSO #PYNCH FLEW.

Shrimp Dumpling: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away

10194157Now that I think of it, I bet you that Shadow and Bone, the first book in the Grisha series was pretty predictable. You know, by Leigh Bardugo. It was an entertaining read, but it was very easy to predict and foresee and also have I mention that I have prophetic powers. Comparable to those of Maura Sargent. And Calla. And other beautiful people.

After all, just because a book is predictable and has a transparent blurb doesn’t mean it cannot be enjoyed, as I’ve heard so many times. NAH.

 

Steamed BBQ Pork Buns: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavor (e.g. Message? Depth? Controversy?)17661416

OMYGOSH. Made you Up. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia. That book was PERFECT. AMAZING. DEEP. AUTISTIC. FLUFFINESS. COLOR. ALL OVER AMAZINGNESS. You should read it. You really should it. It showed schizophrenia in such an admirable (not that it’s admirable to be schizophrenic), or a far more lighter, positive light. It showed that schizophrenic people aren’t made up of their mental condition. 

 

Chicken Feet: A book with divided opinions

I DON’T KNOW. I HONESTLY DON’T KNOW. Probably the Westing Game by Ellen Raskin. It was one heck of a thrillride, but there was so much undermining things and so much reverse physics and I probably lost the author there somewhere with all of the characters talking all about all of the quest possibilities and different possibilities and opinions that constantly changed and multiplied and united and divided and multiple other mathematic operations.

IMG_0515

Lotus-Wrapped Sticky Rice: A book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged

16000044GOSH. I remember my aunt giving me a copy of Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes? It was nice and everything in a cool booksy wrapping paper and in one of those big Barnes and Noble’s bags. I still remember. I love Morgan Rhodes. But that was years ago, for some family get-together I can’t even recall properly. I’m strange.

Egg Custard Tart: A book that uses simple ingredients and clichés but executes it perfectly

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You. I didn’t even have to think for this one. It came to me as easily as being magical does.

BUT PLEASE. HOLD ON. DO NOT FRET. POSSESS NORMALCY. I did not expect to be this awed by Jenny Han’s writing, because honestly, I took one look at the Goodreads overview and I was simply like ‘PUH LEASE POPCORNS. I do not read this type of lemonade. Way too boring and obvious.’ And then Analee from Book Snacks was raving about it and I was so in shock and I remember Analee was just like VEDA. YOU MUST. READ. THIS BOOK. NOW. DO NOT DOUBT ME. OR I WILL BANISH YOU TO MORDOR. Or something along the lines of that. But much nicer, probably.

jh Mango Pudding with Evaporated Milk: Any book recommendation + beverage/snack that’s a winning combination 

The whole freaking Raven Cycle series with a slice of cake. Ditto.

Untitled design (12)

Fried Sesame Balls: A book with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over

FRIED SESAME BALLS. TEE HEE. ALSO YUM YUM. I’m sure this was the obviousest thing of ever, and if it wasn’t, please read/feel/smell/lovingly stroke the Lunar Chronicles for multiple hours on end.

Dim Sum Steam Cart: The type of carrying bag you use to bring books around(take  a picture)

I don’t really use anything to carry my books except for a backpack if I’m traveling, or my hands, which I don’t think a picture is requisite of.

THAT’S IT!

take your businessto the next level!.png

Cara at Periods and Semicolons

Angie over at Thoughts Of A Writer and Avid Reader

Lola, the writer at Hit or Miss Books

Weezle from Weezled

Thank you guys for recently following me! ❤

DID ACOTAR LET YOU DOWN TOO? DO YOU LOVE CHAI TEA LIKE ME? AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, HAVE YOU READ THE RAVEN KING? I’M ABOUT TO FINISH AND I FEEL PRETTY READY TO DIE. ALSO, HAVE YOU ALL READ WINTER? THE LUNAR CHRONICLES IS AMAZING, AND I’M READY TO FEEL AND READ AND CRADLE HEARTLESS! I LOVE MAGGIE STIEFVATER. AND THE TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE DUOLOGY. I THINK THOSE TWO CAN DEFINE ME VERY WELL. LET ME KNOW WHAT YOU THOUGHT!

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 5.17.20 PM

6 thoughts on “Dim Sum Book Tag || The Necessary Acquisition Of Dim Sum And Pie In Life

    1. ZOMG I KNOW EXACTLY HOW YOU FEEL. WHEN I FOUND OUT RONAN WASNT STRAIGHT I WAS DEVASTATED BECAUSE I LOVE HIM BUT THEN OYNCH STARTED SAILING ADN THEN IT FLEW AND I WAS LIKE OKAY. But seriously I love Pynch and I especially love Ronan. Adam was never my favorite mostly because in the first two books and like, part of the third, he was so incessantly hard on Gansey and he hurt my Gansey. I love Gansey. And I so ship Bluesy. But yes, this series is giving me ALL DA FEELS. 😂

      1. Hahahaha YESSS ALL THE FEELS MAN. My fav is probably Gansey just because he’s like my type of guy anyways 😂 But I actually like Adam too!

      2. GOSH FINALLY SOMEONE UNDERSTANDS ME. THE FEELS THE FEELS THE FEELS. Gansey is just all around perfect. I don’t think there’s anyone who doesn’t like him 🙂 I don’t know, I definitely didn’t like Adam in the first one or the second, but he’s gotten a little better since he’s put a stop to all of his fuss with Blue and Gansey and his parents and his poorness. But since he’s got Ronan now, I think he’s amazing. BUT BECAUSE OF PERFECT RONAN MOSTLY. HAHAHAHAHAAAA. 😀 😀

      3. Hahhahaha nooo I loved Adam from the start, he was my second favourite 😅
        But yeah I loved him so much with Ronan!!! Still can’t handle all the otp feels, even though it’s been a month since I read it 😂

      4. I guess it was just had for me to relate to Adam at the start….?

        SRSLY 52 YEARS ARE GOING TO GO BY AND I WILL NOT BE RID OF THE FEELS. And all the ships sailed, and it was a perfect book, and it had the best ending of ever, so what should I do now???? I’m lacking mental peace because of this book.

        If only Gansey existed, I would be oh-so happy.

        I AM GOING TO GO HIBERNATE FOR THE NEXT 52 YEARS. TOO MANY FEELS TO HANDLE.

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

