A Humongous Brainwashing Session Of Me Ranting About Heir Of Fire And Why It Is The Best Book In Existence

Heir of fire book reviewaelin&Rowanand otherlovely things.

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 1.04.31 PM.png

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Crown of Midnight.

-Goodreads

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 7.16.12 PMScreen Shot 2015-10-08 at 5.18.17 PM

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM
If you have not read Heir of Fire yet, this review might contain some spoilers for you! 

TWO WORDS:
ROWAN WHITETHORN

Need I say more? I don’t think so. Rowan is the bae of all ages. ROWAN FLIPPING WHITETHORN IS A DRAGON!!!!! Rowan Rowan Rowan Rowan Rowan Rowan Rowan. Let me stop stalling and proceed without blowing up. I shall try. But I do not ship Rowaelin. I ship Chaolena. Sure ROWAN IS AWESOME AND I WANT HIM VERY MUCH BUT CHAOLENA NEEDS TO PREVAIL.
“She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.” 

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMI sort of felt it my duty to start with this one. I sort of posted it over, well, on a social media platform and raved about it for ten hundred years because it is the best book ever. This quote is well said and it is beautiful. The writing here and the character development–Celaena has turned into her true birthright!! She is a young lady and she is the epitome of awesomeness. And she will bow to NONE. The power, the punch in that statement is so powerful–you will not be able to halt reading.

“I claim you, Rowan Whitethorn. I don’t care what you say and how much you protest. I claim you as my friend.” 

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMDo you guys get what I said in my last review, when I said “I claim you.”? YASSSS. I love this. All great relationships start with great friendships. Bear with me. This is so strong and deep that, well, it tells you so much MORE about Celaena and it shows so much depth in both of the characters, and the writing style is so PERFECT that I must die (not really) that it always gets to me. EACH AND EVERY TIME.

“Their hands clasped between them, he whispered into her ear, “I claim you, too, Aelin Galathynius.”

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMThis comes right after the previous quote because oh my god YES PLEASE ROWAN CLAIM HER. Oh, and if you haven’t read Crown of Midnight, this will be the biggest spoiler of the world for you so please proceed and do not read the next words unless you want to be ruined. Celaena is the lost Queen of Terrasen. Her and Chaol had so much in Crown of Midnight and now it’s all gone, and I love Rowan and I want him so much for myself.

READ NOW. ROWAN IS SUCH A DEEP CHARACTER. He has so many layers to him, and losing a mate must have been so hard for him and he has struggled through so many tragedies and losses and HURT. Rowan is one of the strongest characters I’ve ever read, even if he does knock Celaena on her butt every time she fights him and loses.

“Because I am lost,” she whispered onto the earth. “And I do not know the way.” 

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMAbsolute beauty. You have to agree with me. It is absolute beauty. It is so real and heartbreaking to read something like this. The writing is so beautiful and pure and raw that is so totally heartbreaking and blissful. What’s behind this is so hard and imaginable and real that it is another open door for you to imagine whatever you must.

“What are you doing?”
“What?”
Emrys didn’t raise his voice as he said, “To that girl. What are you doing that makes her come in here with such emptiness in her eyes?”
“That’s none of your concern.”
Emrys pressed his lips into a tight line. “What do you see when you look at her, Prince?”
He didn’t know. These days, he didn’t know a damn thing. “That’s none of your concern, either.” 
Emrys ran a hand over his weathered face. “I see her slipping away, bit by bit, because you shove her down when she so desperately needs someone to help her back up.”  

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMI have like ten bajillion quotes to talk about but LOOK AT THIS. Just look at this.  Look at the flawless writin and look at the characters and how twisted and deep the plot is. Can’t you imagine so many possibilities and scenes that could go behind this? I can. And that is beautiful writing because it gives you so many opportunities to imagine and connect.

“Chaol kept his sword drawn. “I will not go to Anielle,” he growled. “And I will not serve you a moment longer. There is one true king in this room—­there always has been. And he is not sitting on that throne.”
Dorian stiffened.
But Chaol went on. “There is a queen in the north, and she has already beaten you once. She will beat you again. And again. Because what she represents, and what your son represents, is what you fear most: hope. You cannot steal it, no matter how many you rip from their homes and enslave. And you cannot break it, no matter how many you murder.” 

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMThis is such a profound, deep saying, and it feels like such a great moral, especially the part about hope. You see SO MUCH about hope in this series that it feels so good reading it. And the part with Dorian and Chaol–anyone call for a bromance?! Chaol and Dorian have such a great friendship and such deep ties that it makes for a beautiful part of the story.

“I claim you, Aelin. To whatever end.”  

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMI claim you too, Rowan. I claim you forever. Isn’t it beautiful?! To whatever end? Doesn’t it make you want to read it so badly, the beautiful writing style?! And all of the words coming together to make such AGH beautiful writing? GO READ IT.

“You didn’t need a weapon at all when you were born one.” 

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMFAITH. DETERMINATION. This book is full of beautiful morals and virtues that are important to any person and their integrity. It teaches you how to behave, and it teaches you the power of good virtues. I cannot bear to not cry. This is BEAUTY.

“It would not take a monster to destroy a monster – but light, light to drive out darkness.” 

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMFINAL QUOTE (how funny it’s a joke). BEAUTY INSIDE OUT. That is what this is. Epic fantasy, so beautiful and raw and pure that I want to gobble it up and Rowan is mine and do not say anything more because he is mine the end of the story. This is a moral that is very important. It’s a thought and it’s a sign of a character and it shows character development, when Celaena realizes this, you can see how much and she and her mind have grown, and how beautiful she’s become. Inside, and out.

 “The people you love are just weapons that will be used against you.”

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMRowan is a smart boy, but come on Rowan. Look how strong and solid he is, and unmoving warrior of stone, a person made all of muscle and tragedy and awfulness. Let me cry please. Rowan is so clever, and he is the best mentor and instructor Celaena could hope for. This quote gives you a great insight into Rowan’s character and what type of a deep person he is.

“…her dearest friends are characters in books.”

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMI’m serious. I love the book appreciation in this series, because I need books to be respected as they are a big part of life, and not just mine. Since I am a humongous bookworm, I love all of Celaena’s love towards books and writing and stories and food and fancy dresses. It makes her the realest character I’ve ever read of. It also makes her incredibly funny to read from.

“She was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius—­and she would not be afraid.”

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 12.14.17 PMOKAY FINE. THIS IS THE END. (And isn’t that fitting because it’s at the end of the book, too?” Isn’t this amazing?! This is the actual ending of the book and I will permit you to cry at the end and eat lots and lots of cabbage and turn into munchkins if you would like to, but this is beautiful. All these quotes are so beautifully written and so beautifully intertwined into the series it’s hard to believe that it will ever stop. I don’t want it to!

All in all, Heir of Fire is the highest-rating book that I’ve ever read, not just in the series, but in all! Second only to Harry Potter since I am a witch and to Percy Jackson because I love the books about my brother since I am a fellow child of poseidon.Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

As you can see, Crown of Midnight was an epic novel and I really think y’all should read it because of you don’t the world ending is very, very possible. Chaol and Dorian really step out and you find more about their character and the discovery about Celaena at the end is just ground-breaking.

have you read Crown of Midnight? Throne of Glass? What were your thoughts? Do you agree/disagree with me?

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 12.18.24 PMScreen Shot 2015-11-30 at 8.14.59 PM

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

