What Is The Purpose Of Social Media?|| Because I Am Not A Social-Media Person And More Munchkin-Advised Blogger Confessions

bookzillansociety.wordpress.com (9)

The Queen has returned. AKA moi. Or maybe I’m quoting Sheen of Quadows*. Anyhoo, I am drowning myself in light blue, pink, and turquoise for Valentine’s day. Does the above doodlydonkerthingy not look like signature cuteness? AHEM. THAT IS ALL ME. BOW TO ME O BLESSED ONES. I would love to drown myself in greens. Like light green, and mint green, and lime green, and camo green, and that rich dark green…maybe I will stop being a fantasizer and talk about what I’m actually going to be posting today. It’s Monday, which means it’s time for us to start off our week with a good discussion. Let’s discuss my beloved ones. 

*Ahem. Please be real. Sheen of Quadows really is much funner** to say than Queen of Shadows. I think I’ll go around for a good few weeks saying ‘Sheen of Quadows’ and no one will understand me except for YOU. Because I’m over here pretending to be a duck and scare all the Herondales away, right? QUACK. 

**BAH. Funner is funner to say than more fun. Let’s be little kids again for a day. Sit back, forget your responsibilities, and very likely have all the topsy-turvyness topsy-turved by screaming and remarks on your responsibility. Let’s go be thieving and steal some Thin Mints from the refrigerator. 

77e24b7b94c15ba5bd80647f9d2629db8d434b52e42b2fdf6641d2cf0bc07308

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

So what is the purpose of social media? Because let me start off and share some of my thoughts and go ahead and heed the “thoughts and confessions” part of the title without dying inside because of THIN MINTS and KAZ BREKKER and ROWAN WHITETHORN. You can deal.

I’ve seen several comments before suggesting whatever blogger*/person to sign up for various social media accounts supported by the constant phrase “it helps you reach out”, “gain more followers”, “maximize your audience”. What does this mean exactly?

Is Social Media only used by bloggers to gain a bigger following or more publicity for your blogs? Social media is often used by common people (excluding bloggers) who want to connect with their family, friends, or long-distance relatives/acquaintances.

— *See how I specified ‘blogger’ and then ‘person’? Complete total and full proof that us bloggers are a completely different species of humans. Often true. —

I was always scared of social media. Always scared of compromising my safety, and so I never did it. I still find it frightening, and daunting, and something to keep away from me at arm’s length but my current social media accounts are a mainstream of ‘PRIVATE ACCOUNT you must request this person to see their content’ because I use them to connect with friends and relatives. Therefore, I am not a social media maniac and I do not ever want to invest myself as deeply into social media as I’ve seen people do. 

There, folks. There’s my confession. I think I’ve greatly amused Squashhead and so now our attack scale is uneven. He predicted I’d never ‘man up’ enough to come say this. 😛

So what I want to ask is: is it worth it? I’ve habituated the practice of making my accounts on whatever thing it is private if the option is available to me. Often my social media accounts, such as my instagram, is used to stay in touch with my friends and to share photos of my experiences and books with them rather than to simply be an advertising program for my blog.

I also have a pinterest, and I don’t create boards and pin stuff as much as I do go hunting for pictures of cute things related to my story that I’m currently writing to get a better perspective on the object in my head–because let’s be real. Pinterest has everything.

But that’s not the focus of this post. The focus of this post is on the true purpose of social media and why we have it. Let’s face it, social media is an important part of all of our lives and has placed itself into our daily lifestyles very easily. My friends and I, we’ve had it from a pretty young age considering normalcy. And so do we use social media to keep in touch with our loved ones, to gain publicity among the internet, or to advertise our blogs?!

Social media pros:
  • You keep in touch with friends
  • You stay in contact with relatives and friends
  • You have a place to post your photography/post your thoughts [in a way, think about it]
  • Social media can help you meet new friends and find people who share your interests
Social media cons:
  • You can compromise your internet safety
  • You are an open door for identity theft and hacking
  • Sometimes your posted content can be [copied, pasted, sent] transported to anywhere and seen by anyone without your permission
  • What you put on the internet STAYS forever
  • You can be putting your safety and person [details, etc,] at risk

So. Cons beats pros by one, but there certainly are other pros and cons of social media besides the major ones that I listed.

So would people be willing to compromise their safety to gain more publicity or advertise their other internet accounts or programs? Of course everything we do on the internet comes with a risk, blogging included, but cautiousness and wariness of your actions, the content you post, is a great practice and should be steadily employed.

I think that maintaining a few social media accounts with great internet safety awareness is going to be the most attainable, reasonable solution to the social media craze in this generation. I understand completely that attempting to compel people to drop all their social media will be one of the biggest flops of anyone’s life, so I am this time advising internet awareness and cautiousness of what you do on the internet.

Social media provides a different purpose for everyone. Some people do indeed use it to gain either a bigger cyberspace following or an advertisement on their blogs, but the purpose that use my social media for is to simply stay in touch with relatives and friends and share the things with them that cannot be expressed through talking or words. Sometimes telling a picture or creating and sending a pinterest board full of entertaining GIF’s can be the brightest part of anyone’s day.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

All in all, social media and internet should be used moderately and cyber-awarely. I know a lot of people who drown themselves in social media, but after finishing this blog post, I’m either going to read, play volleyball, or drown myself in more graphic designing that comprises itself fully of pale greens, pinks, blues, and turquoises. Fight me. FIGHT ME. And those of you who know me in person, for example, if any of my in-person friends are reading this, they will be laughing their heads off at me for ‘FIGHT ME’ forever. 😀 😀

Do you have social media accounts? how and why do you use them? are YOU and other social-media users you might know acknowledging the risks of using social media like a munchkin putting even Squashhead to shame? do you agree/disagree with me in my final resolution about social media purpose and you? 

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 12.18.24 PMScreen Shot 2015-11-30 at 8.14.59 PM

 

 

10 thoughts on “What Is The Purpose Of Social Media?|| Because I Am Not A Social-Media Person And More Munchkin-Advised Blogger Confessions

  1. Hi,
    I met you on WordPress. I also blog about blogging and social media. Maybe you can check out my site if you could use any help with your blog since that’s what I blog about. I help bloggers at my site.
    Here is the link to my About page, so you can read more about me.
    http://mostlyblogging.com/about/
    In response to what you wrote, I had an idea. I am in favor of social media for bloggers, you feel the cons outweigh the pros. Would you like to write a pro/con post with me? I once wrote a pro/con post with someone, and it was pretty successful. Here is the link, so you can see an example of what i had in mind
    http://mostlyblogging.com/18-important-things-know-self-hosting/
    My guest authors get more exposure. Let me know what you think.
    Janice

    1. Hey! You definitely run a helpful blog. You give great advice about blogging, I’ve gathered a lot from just reading a couple of posts.
      I did read your pro/con post about self-hosting and it answered many of my questions about self-hosting! It also did give me quite a bit of information that I hadn’t known before.
      I would certainly like to write a pro/con post with you on social media for bloggers. It sounds like a pretty neat idea. Just let me know what exactly you need of me and when I need to email it to you. If there’s any questions/forms I need to answer, I can do that. I can’t wait! 🙂
      ~Veda

      1. Hi,
        I am excited about us writing an article together! Exciting! I am looking forward to it. Number two I will send you more information when I am home at a computer.
        Three, thank you for your compliments about my blog. Four, I love your blog name. I just realized it sounds like Darth Vader! I will be in touch.
        Janice

      2. Hey Janice,

        First off, thank you so much for your compliments on my blogger name in your other comment. It was so kind of you!

        I did check out the webpage that you linked to. I will be getting started on my part of the post very soon. Is there any format that I have to write it in? I believe it will take me, at most, 4-5 days, but I can probably get it to you sooner. Most likely in 2 or 3 days. Does that work with your blog schedule? I am expecting that I am supposed to send it to you through email, do I need it to share it with you in any other way? And I believe your email address can be found on your blog? It’s going to be great to write an article together 🙃

        ~Veda

  2. I really really REALLY agree with everything you say. As much as I like being connected, it scares the coconuts out of me so the only social media connected to my blog are Twitter and Pinterest and I try my best not to post personal stuff on there. The rest is private.

    1. It is awesome to keep your account private and it’s good to not post personal stuff! Social media is scary, but sometimes it’s really fun to, as long as you use it for the right reasons!

  3. This all makes great sense. It’s always important to be aware of internet safety. I enjoy creating boards on Pinterest, mostly as inspiration for my novels, but all of them are private–I guess I’m as shy about sharing my inspiration boards as I am about sharing my writing–at least in the early stages.

    1. It is crucial to your personal safety. Pinterest boards are fun to create in general and using them for novels is definitely an enhancement to your writing. We’re all pretty secluded when it comes to our baby writing; we just tend to always go back and try to make it better. ALWAYS. It’s us writers.

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

