Book Tag: Soundtrack Of My Life || Music To My Ears

bookzillansociety.wordpress.com (8)

I’m baaaack! Lord, that sounds so creepy, and I feel like I’m some sort of evil child-eating witch from Hansel and Gretel. I’m not. I’m a nice witch. I’m a Crochan. I’m an Ironteeth. I don’t know. I am a Blackblood? But let me ask, did any of you feel like in that last second of Queen of Shadows when Manon pays Dorian a visit, and since _______ is dead, did anyone think Manon and Dorian could happen? They might. They could. They have to! Also, sobs, Kaz and Inej did not happen yet I need a sequel right now Leigh Bardugo plus Nina is she going to freaking die or not and are they going for Jan Van Eck (like Renaissance artist Jan Van Eyck, get it?) or Pekka Rollins BECAUSE I GOTS NO DARNED CLUE.

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 3.04.02 PM

I was tagged for this tag by a lovely buzzing honeybee…I actually couldn’t think of anything else to rhyme with her name because I am just doing this on the spot, so instead of pretending a little annoying biotic honey-producing buzzer went on the internet and tagged me for this, I going to say shamefully that Dee from The Bookish Khaleesi tagged me all the way back in November and here I am, getting to tags and awards from my 2015 queue of them. Well, am I not lame. The utmost unimportant opinion here comes from Squashhead who answered that rhetorical question.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

SOUNDFAZE SLUM AGE

OPENING CREDITS: FAVORITE Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMCHILDHOOD BOOK

SO. Do NOT ask me about the “Soundfaze Slum Age” title. I am trying to imply that this is some sort of paper poll/article thing, and we’ve got a supreme title and cool pictures and colors and BLAH BLAH.

Okay, so I had this humongous obsession with this series, The Magic Tree House back when it was all first released and such, and I read it in the first year it was released, I think, and I loved it from then because adventure was my jam and the two characters I found to be very catastrophical though when I look back at those books now, I’m over here, like, THIS IS AWFULNESS AND BOREDOM IN A BAKING BOWL IN AN OVERHEATED OVEN. OFF WITH YOUR HEADS IF YOU DO NOT MAKE YUMMY COOKIES.

Anyhoo, when I was young, I was not given an allowance and so I used to make deals with my parents that –on a usual basis, I was expected to help around the house without being paid because my parents would simply buy it rather than give me money– for every chore I did, my parents gave me a dollar, and these books were like $8 in the bookstore near my home and every time I collected $8, we’d go and buy me a book. Bookworm from a young age, I suppose.

WAKING UP: A BOOK THAT GOT YOU Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMOUT OF A READING SLUMP.

Hm. I’m going to go ahead and say that Six of Crows really did bring me out of a humongous reading slump, because on my left hand, I’d just finished the Infernal Devices and when I tried to go and read City of Lost Souls which I’m on right now, I saw every problem with everything in which THERE ARE SO MANY and so I put City of Lost Souls on hold, and then on the other hand, I’d just finished Queen of Shadows and was miserably dragging myself around my home thieving around the refrigerator and drowning myself in ice cream and dark chocolate almonds. Blah blah blah blah.

six-of-crows

SCHOOL: A BOOK YOU HAD TO READ FOR SCHOOL THAT YOU ENDED UP Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMLOVING.

OHHHHH. So when I was much much younger, we had a book club in school, and we read two major books that year. We read Hatchet by Gary Paulsen which I found despicably boring and we read The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin, and The Westing Game is one of my favorite, and most favored mystery novel to date. Everyone needs to read it right now because it is one of the most engaging, original books that I have ever read. The picture is linked to the Goodreads page and even that undermines the best of the book, so you must read it.

IMG_0515

FALLING IN LOVE: AN AUTHOR YOU LOVE SO MUCH YOU WANT TO READ Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMALL OF THEIR BOOKS.

OH LORD. There is so much here. SO MUCH. And the only answer for me to ever give you is obviously going to be the author of the legendary Harry Potter, my constant soulmate and true love, Miss Joanne Kathleen Rowling known by her alias J.K. Rowling or her pseudonym Robert Galbraith.

the queen of the bookosphere

FIGHT: BOOK WITH THE BEST ACTION SEQUENCES.Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PM

 Oh, I have to break the rules here. I have two answers; both Cassie Clare and Sarah J. Maas’ book series’ are so action-packed and morally tense.

BREAK UP: A BOOK OR SERIES YOU DIDN’T FINISH AND DO NOT INTEND Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMTO FINISH.

UHM. Well, you see, I simply follow through with my book choices. I read The Selection and hated it, read The Elite, and hated it, and read The One, and it was worth it, because the final book was pretty good. So in the end, I don’t remember a book or a series I left off on. I do remember having to read this book for school but I remember the whole unit in the grade school hated it and the teachers cut us off on it, but I don’t think that counts.

HANGING WITH FRIENDS: BOOK YOU THINK EVERYONE ELSE SHOULD Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMREAD.

The Westing Game? And Dee said Six of Crows, which is actually very valid because that is a PERFECT book but I’m going to go ahead and give you an MG book I don’t thing y’all (and my friend is going to be on my head for saying that when it sounds suckish when I actually do say it) have heard me talk about yet, so here goes, peeps. These two are pretty awesome books.

BREAKDOWN: BOOK THAT SERIOUSLY AFFECTED YOU/HAD YOU CRYING Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMYOUR EYES OUT.

So you know I don’t cry for books. But no joke, I was SO AFFECTED by Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan, the final book in the Heroes of Olympus series, stopping my brother the legendary Percy Jackson and Annabeth and Leo (sob) and Jason and Piper and Frank and Hazel in their journeys. It was so awful, because those series’ were such a big part of my childhood and to come and think that they had ended was the most heart-breaking, derogatory experience of ever.

Another major one is Champion by Marie Lu. Holy Smokes, that left me hearing this pang in my ears and seeing fuzzy people. Champion was so bittersweet and dreadful and yet I still love Day wholly and this series remains in my heart forever and ever. And another great blogger actually convinced me to read these with her reviews, and she was one of the first blogs I ever followed–Alicia from #lovebooks and she actually upgraded to a new self-hosted WP blog & domain, so go and show her some love!

how-am-i-supposed-to-live

Oh lord. This hearts my heart and soul just reminiscing about this wonderful, wonderful series.

Okay, and so unless you’ve read Champion, you won’t understand the last four pictures in the mosaic above, and if you have read it and you understand, come cry with me.

ROAD TRIP: YOU FAVORITE SERIES Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PM(MORE THAN 3 BOOKS).

I try to refrain from mentioning Harry Potter more than once, but does it look like I care right now?

GETTING BACK TOGETHER: WHAT BOOK CAN YOU NOT STOP Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMREREADING.

ARGH. HARRY POTTER AGAIN. It was the first book series I ever actually begged my parents to buy. And it was the first book series that I put on my 2nd bookshelf specified for my current favorites and all time favorites, where my 1st bookshelf was decked out in books from all ages. Anyhoo, I kept reading Harry Potter again and again and again and I will never, never stop. It will be the treasure of my family line. Oh, bold dreams.

harry-potter-books

WEDDING: A BOOK THAT IS REALLY Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMSPECIAL TO YOU.

I will NOT say Harry Potter again. I REALLY REALLY REALLY want to, but that will be the third time and I think I might appear to be sort of potter maniac or something. And that’s not actually the biggest lie about me anyway ;P if you know what I mean. So I’m going to say a book that is really special to me that is…Cinder AND Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I know this is breaking the rules, but Cinder is one of the first YA Sci-fi books I’ve read and desperately loved (I count the Hunger Games more dystopian) and Scarlet, though I did not like it the most, is dear to me because growing up as a child, The Little Red Riding Hood was one of the most common bedtime stories I was told by my mother. I think we had four or five copies of it, in fact…

MOMENT OF TRIUMPH: LONGEST Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMBOOK YOU’VE EVER READ

I’d like to say Winter by Marissa Meyer but the truth is I have to admit to being a Harry Potter junkie and Potterholic. This’ll be the third or fourth time I mention Harry Potter, so bear with me, because The Order of The Phoenix is both probably the longest book I’ve read, and a great one at that.

ootp-us-jacket-art

And besides, does anyone really like the new cover designs? I don’t like them at all. I like the simplicity of this one, which are the copies I own, and though the embossing on the new covers is fine indeed it feels too detailed and too story-telling rather than thought-provoking for me, if you know what I mean. Here’s how the new one looks: (I like the one-color-theme per book in the aforesaid copies)

AND WHY IS HARRY WEARING GHOST GLASSES. HE’S NOT A GHOUL.

DEATH SCENE: BOOK OR SERIES YOU Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMWISH HAD ENDED DIFFERENTLY.

I do agree with Dee that I would have preferred Alina with someone else, because Dee and I did share a ship in the Grisha series that did not sail, so I agree with her wholly, but in the spirit of Bardugo’s works, I’m going to call up yet again Six of Crows because–really? I NEED HER BACK I NEED THAT TOP HAPPEN RIGHT NOW WHAT SORT OF A CLIFFHANGER OF AN ENDING IS THAT THAT IS PURE CRUELTY AND EVEN SQUASHHEAD AGREES WITH ME. Look upon my distaste, O Minions, because THE BOOK IS SO FLIPPING GOOD.

six-of-crows

FUNERAL: BOOK WITH THE BEST OR Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.57.53 PMWORST EPILOGUE.

And..I steal this epilogue from Dee. This OBVIOUSLY goes to Clockwork Princess. (Harry Potter had to be forcibly pushed away for this one 😉 ) That epilogue is more than life…it shattered me and broke me and pushed me down a rabbit hole into Veda in Book-Obsessing-Fangirling-Dying-Inside-Land. I cannot believe what happened. You see, Will is on my screensaver. This is disastrous, even though it is a portion of a happily ever after. I am dead. I am broken. This is the end. I think I am turning into a frog and now I am going to go eat ants because I feel so empty inside. ❤ ❤ 🙂

cvr9781416975908_9781416975908_hr

I think I’m dying inside because I’m partly looking at fanfiction and crying my soul out and then covering the desk with tears, so…Clockwork Princess. There you have it.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

Presentation (1)

Ava from Bookishnessandtea– Because her graphics are on fleek and her photo-taking is miraculously perfect just like Cait’s.

Bianca from The Ultimate Fangirl– Bianca’s blog is just cuteness. And she always has really fun posts, because what else do you expect from a fangirl?

Stefanie from Your Daughter’s Bookshelf– Stefanie has been with me in my blogging journey from the start and she’s been so sweet to me! Stefanie is one of my closest friends on the blogosphere, and I appreciate her very much!
Aila from One Way Or An Author– That is the cutest wordplay for a title of ever. And besides, Aila is such a beautiful person and a blogger that you must check her out!

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

Oh, lord, I think that is easily one of the longest book tags I have ever done. Well, aside from the Harry Potter book tag I did some time ago. Anyhoo, I am proceeding with All The Bright Places and reading that as an ebook which is killing my tab’s energy and I am also reading City of Lost Souls which I am definitely not loving at the moment. And I really need to start reading Cassie Clare’s books in their new cover redesign. The old ones don’t really make good to be carrying around everywhere. 

Have you done this tag? if you have, leave me a link! if you have not, then consider yourself OFFICIALLY TAGGED by me! do you agree/disagree with my answers? what more would you add to my answers? and have you read any of the books that I listed in this post? 

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 12.18.24 PMScreen Shot 2015-11-30 at 8.14.59 PM

2 thoughts on “Book Tag: Soundtrack Of My Life || Music To My Ears

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

