Clockwork Prince Dropped Me Through A Paper Shredder And Completely Broke Me || Why Clockwork Prince Will Be The Death Of Me

I love this book so much. SO MUCH. I feel so awful. I warn you now, people. This is not a review. This is a clear violation of my self-control and all the heartbreak that can fit in a book. This is not a review; this review is a rant. Watch me sob, and cry, and scream, because this book tore me apart into shreds. I don’t even know how clear I can make that. Cassie Clare has evidently really tried to break into my restraint. I am ashamed, however, to say that I ended up throwing the book across the room. And screaming. But be happy my hair is still intact with my head.

BOOKZILLANSOCIETY (2)

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 7.08.58 PM.png

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.
With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.
Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?
As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.
-Goodreads

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PMScreen Shot 2015-12-06 at 11.44.14 AM

If you have not read this book, or Clockwork Angel, this review may have spoilers for you. 

I honestly have no clue how to review this book for you. I’m probably, most likely just going to go on ranting about Jem and Will and the curse and the yin fen thingamabobber and then Tessa and how there is no villain and Sophie and Gideon and Gabriel and Benedict and ohmygod ohmygod ohmygod MAGNUS BANE. But yass. This book pretty much shredded me through a paper shredder and turned me into cabbage. Also I want my own munchkin. RIGHT NOW RIGHT NOW RIGHT ABOUT NOW IMMEdIATELY RIGHT NOW and my munchkin, named Squashhead, will bring me all the books for me in the world. Immediately.
So. Tessa. What do I say about this little horny damsel in distress. I have no clue at all what to say about Tessa. She is so unforgiving and stubborn that I feel like, even though she is a kajillion percent better than Clary, I still feel like she got so, um, needy and girly and unindependenty in this novel and I thought she and Jem were like, life, right up until I found out about Will’s curse. So, you see, Tessa, when I first found her in the Dark house and in the Institute, in Clockwork Angel, she was so independent and strong, but she got so dependent on Sophie and snappy and needy of boys. I didn’t really love it when she was going on about “Will this, Will that, does he love me, do I love him, why did Will say blah blah blah blah” and here I am, like, blather Tessa. STAHP. And not to mention all of Tessa’s “improper, proper this, and nobleness, and goodness, and kindness, and blah blah blah blah blah blah”.
And then Jem. GAWD. I LOVE PARABATAI. I LOVE FREAKING PARABATAI. But Jem, come on. I really, truly loved him so much after Will pretty much called Tessa nothing more than a courtesan but right between Jem and Tessa’s love scene when Jem is all “I know when you look at me in the eyes, you’re seeing how much of the drug I’ve taken, and when you take my hand, you’re checking my pulse” and all that excessive complaints. I feel like Jem just pretty much made Tessa all guilty, getting her to love him. And then in the tea warehouse, where he was completely all mizpah and like pretty much, “I am declaring my undying love for you” and I was so fed up with him, especially when Jem went from sweet, kind person, into Tessa is my property and I must let her know by making her feel guilty. And then when he proposed? Half of the proposal was him going on about how he was going to die anyway so would Tessa please just make him happy for the rest of his life. So please, Jem, save it. I love you, but save it.
So Will. Quite the most important person ever. I love Will so freaking much. And you know why? I didn’t like him so much because of his behavior towards Tessa but after I discovered his curse, I was literally on my knees. How can that happen? How can someone flipping love with that curse? HOW. HOW HOW HOW HOW. And then, since I’ll be discussing Magnus right now. Magnus Bane is life. Though he hooks up with Alec in TMI, I think that him helping Will and all and leaving Camille because she cheated on him, but even though, he helps Will and when Will discovers that pretty much he’s been pushing everyone away and the curse wasn’t valid, I WAS SO FREAKING MAD. And he’s so happy and great and finally, finally tells Tessa about the curse and that he loves her and SHE FLIPPING PUSHES HIM AWAY LIKE WHAT THE FREAKING HECK!! NO TESSA NO WHY WOULD YOU PUSH HIM AWAY WHEN HE DID IT TO FREAKING SAVE YOU. And she’s literally like “Will, I love Jem, not you” and then, from the book itself, quota “the light dissipated from Will’s eyes, disappearing as if it had never existed.” You flipping madwoman Tessa Gray. After 5 flipping years of torture, how could you do that to Will?
It pretty much killed me. And so there was when I started, like, screaming and like, sobbing and yelling and almost tearing the pages out but since it is my beautiful copy, I didn’t. How can she do that?!! Anyways, the Lightwood brothers are super awesome. I practically LOVE Gideon. Like, Sophie is scarred because of her previous devious master, and Gideon loves her. I am so falling for this Lightwood dude. And Gabriel’s eternal loyalty to his dad does earn him some cred. Like, he was so faithful even when he found out his dad was a two-faced liar who was working for the enemy of the Clave. Good job, Gabriel. But not literally.
And like yass. So that was the book. It was so awesome and it tore me up and threw me across the globe. I am reading Clockwork Princess now, so basically I am searching the globe for myself since Clockwork Prince balled it up and threw it away. The characters, the story, the development, and all the new revelations were so perfectly constructed into the story that my mind was always on it.
I definitely recommend this book as it is a beautiful, beautiful story of love and loss and pain and betrayal, and ultimate evil, stretching even mankind’s limits further. And yes, I came up with that on my own. And yes, my munchkin’s name is Squashhead. Deal with it. 
Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

Alright, so I’m on Clockwork Princess right now and I’m breaking apart. I do not know what to do. I am one heck of a conflicted person. I don’t know whether Tessa should go with Will or Jem and I’m at the part where the Silent Brothers have come to see Jem because Tessa’s been taken by Mrs. Dark, and so basically everyone’s dying inside because Tessa is the stitches that holds the yarn of the blanket together. And here I am, building up for heartbreak, stocking up on tissues and tears. ;D ;D 

Have you read the Infernal Devices? have you read Clockwork Prince? what did you think of it, if so? If not, would you be interested to? what are some other good books you would recommend to me based off of what I thought of Clockwork Prince? do you agree with me/disagree with me, and why? AND PRAY CLOCKWORK PRINCESS DOES NOT BREAK ME FURTHER. 

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 12.18.24 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 8.14.59 PM

Forever a Shadowhunter, and Mrs. Herondale (Will, not Jace. Go away, Tessa.). I LOVE WILL.
The end.
Well, the end right up until I finish Clockwork Princess. Then I just might bring a bucket of tears since everybody says you’ll cry yourself through all 600 something pages and then soak yourself with your tears. AKA crying buckets. And so I might just bring you that, proof that I am NOT a zilch-hearted emotionless Infernal Device. I am Veda. I am a Shadowhunter. And my munchkin sidekick is Squashhead. We shall take over the world together.
10 thoughts on “Clockwork Prince Dropped Me Through A Paper Shredder And Completely Broke Me || Why Clockwork Prince Will Be The Death Of Me

    1. I don’t know what happened but WordPress posted my comment without letting me finish writing. WTF wordpress?! Anyways, I feel you on the parabatai front. I love Will and Jem – like, can everybody go away so these two can continue their adorable bromance?!?!?
      I actually quite liked Tessa. Much more so than I liked Clary who was just… annoying. Glad you enjoyed this. Clockwork Princess was phenomenal!

      1. WordPress is an evil little computer trying to take over the world tbh. Joking tho 😱😱. Clockwork Princess was some crime of a book that should not be allowed to exist. THE FEELS OH THE FEELS I DON’T EVEN THINK IT IS LEGITIMATE TO MAKE SOMEONE DROWN IN FEELS.
        And so much YAAAAAAAAAAAAAS about Will and Jem. I would’ve loved to see a bromance between them, because they are the cutest two of ever. And Tessa is way better than Clary, except for when she breaks Will’s heart for that period of time. 😭😭 Clary is just so irksome I’m glad Tessa is so much better, tho. 👍🏻👍🏻

  1. I sort of knew that you would change your mind about Will eventually hahaha everyone loves him! I adore the parabatai bond so much, you should quickly continue with Clockwork Princess! There is still so much more!

    1. Yes yes yes yes yes. Will is everything. Will is life. Clockwork Princess was this evil book that made me cry more than my tear glands would like. TID was such a great series, I really hopes Cassie keeps writing with parabatai on par like this because Lady of Midnight is coming out in March (SQUEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!) 😂😂

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

