How I Ended Up Falling For Clockwork Angel And The Infernal Devices Hype: Hello fellow Shadowhunters! Please welcome Tessa Gray!

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 9.04.54 PM

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Timesbestselling Mortal Instruments series.
The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…
-Goodreads

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 11.44.14 AM

For Clockwork Angel, I’m going to interview the main character, Tessa about the rest of the book. Obviously, she’s fictional, so she won’t ACTUALLY be interviewed, but it’s my take on a clever review, okay? Like my previous interview with the reader for City of Fallen Angels, let’s interview Tessa, the actual character in the book, yeah? Atleast you won’t be dreadfully bored, but I’ll just graciously ignore your snoozing. IT IS NOT A SNOOZEFEST. And after Tessa’s answer, I’ll do my own analyzation of a few sentences.

Before, I start, I have to tell you right now: WILL IS NOT BAE. I don’t like Will very much, however, Jem is another story….basically: Me + Jem = perfection.

Hello, Tessa! What was the worst part of the story for you?

[in an English accent]
Hello, Veda! Well, the worst part carries a lot of variations and constituents in Clockwork Angel. I have to say, the worst part wasn’t when I was abducted by the Dark sisters, or when De Quincey was about to kill Nathaniel, or even when the Magister attacked the Institute and Jem was injured. It was probably when Nate was so dreadfully uncovered to be working for the Magister. My very brother left me because of what I was, and I was so hurt. I never knew Nate would do that, because I had complete and total faith in him. Nate and I have grown up together, and the choice he made when he came to London was so shocking. After I loved him and cared for him even as he gambled and lost all our money, I loved my brother.
My analyzation: Tessa’s character’s one weakness is her loved ones. She can never expect to be betrayed by a loved one, making her an easy target. How she reciprocates betrayals and attacks like this, however, is much more powerful.

Alright, Tessa! Now, imagine your life is about to end, and your attacker tells you that you can only be saved if you choose between Will and Jem and never see the other again. HOW do you choose? 

Oh, dear. This is dreadful! I just can’t choose, but I’d choose going by what Aunt Harriet said about all men: “You will know what kind of a man he is not by the things he says, but by the things he does.” Going by that quote, since I respect Aunt Harriet very much, I think Jem is wonderful and so is Will. Will could have chosen to leave me once he found about the Dark sisters at the Dark house, but instead, he rescued me. And Jem was the kindest to me when I was upset. Even when I intruded his privacy, not like a polite lady, while he was playing the violin.
My analyzation: Tessa’s character respects her elders and she has obviously been raised like a lady. Her childhood influence shape her character and personality, and even her thoughts are structured into sophistication and elegance. Tessa is easy to influence and she is easy to bend to your will.

Good ideology, Tessa! How come you escaped the Magister?

Thank you! The Magister is certainly a very clever man. Though he has gotten my brother under his foot, the Magister is certainly easy to defy. He is only a mundane, of course, and wherever he was able to acquire all of his occult knowledge and abilities, I know not, but the Magister is powerful. His clockwork creature idea is very clever, but the Magister underestimated me. He thought I could not escape him. But I did! The thought came to me on the spur, and the Magister would have never thought that such was possible, because he thought less of me than my full potential really is. Hence, it was easy to trick him.
My analyzation: Tessa uses her brain! YASS! I love, love, love how Tessa isn’t very physically capable, but she isn’t dreadfully frightened either. She’s smart and she uses her head and her talent to get her out of situations. Tessa is certainly very, very smart.

Almost done, Tessa. Do you think that the whole thing happened too quickly? How did you process it? 

Well, it did happen very fast. I will be very gracious and not tell too much of myself, but I was quite shocked. It took a lot of orientation to deal with the Institute, and then with the Enclave and all of their choices, and the Dark house, and when Henry and Charlotte left off to De Quincey’s I was surprised by what happened afterward. Although, I am a lady. I know very much of self-composure and I did not allow myself another option beside proper comprehension of what was going on and I only told myself I would survive.
My analyzation: Tessa is very strong-willed and determined. Her thought process and mindset is determined and clever, and she is always optimistic. She believes in doing the right thing, and doing what she can to the furthest of her capability. Her virtues are definitely those of a proper lady’s.

Last question! What are the emotions that you spurred through across the story?

I’m expecting this applies to the whole story, Miss Veda, so I don’t think I can actually tell you the WHOLE thing. There was lots of fear, and doubt, and deep thinking. I thought a lot about Will, you see. He–he rescued me from the Dark house, and for that, I should be grateful but there was fear in there, too. What if he died? What if Jem died? And when the Magister came, Agatha was gone, but what happened to Jessamine? And what happened to Sophie? And poor, poor Thomas who was in love with Sophie? I was always worried at that moment, for everyone’s safety, and, atleast, some were alive.
My analyzation: Tessa is an incredible character! She is very human, not minding her shape-changing. She is like a human in all ways, that are important, atleast. Tessa cares for everyone she loves and holds them close. No matter the fact she is eternal, and Shadowhunters are not, she is wizened beyond her years, polite, and smart, and caring. And for that, she is always human.
I definitely recommend this book as it is an amazing story and I’m sure you will enjoy it! And after that, we can fangirl together. 
Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

 All in all, this was a wonderful book and I certainly enjoyed it. It is much better than the Mortal Instruments, and it is evident that Cassandra Clare has grown very much as an author. This was interesting, intriguing, and a magnificent story. I shall be singing its praises for its long time. Onward to Clockwork Prince!

So! have you read Clockwork Angel? if so, what did YOU think of it? if not, would you be interested to? have you read any of Cassie Clare’s books? and most importantly, are you Team Wessa or Team Jessa? I like Jem so much better, between the two of us. 

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 12.18.24 PMScreen Shot 2015-11-30 at 8.14.59 PM

18 thoughts on “How I Ended Up Falling For Clockwork Angel And The Infernal Devices Hype: Hello fellow Shadowhunters! Please welcome Tessa Gray!

    1. Thank you 😊 The Infernal Devices is just amazing. Which book are you on? They’re all heartbreaking in one way or another. And do you ship Wessa or Jessa? I shipped Wessa first, then Jessa, and I finished strong with Wessa 😂😂

  1. I am totally on Team Jem! Although I do love Will as well. I’ve read 9 of Clare’s books so far and I am majorly excited for Lady Midnight! Everything that has to do with parabatai is awesome!

    1. YASSS TEAM JESSA EVERYDAY!!!!!

      Jingle Bells,
      William smells,
      Team Jem all the way,

      If only he was with Tessa,
      I’d be happy everyday!

      😛 😛

      I am on Lost Souls of TMI and LADY MIDNIGHT OH MY GAWDDDD. Cassie Clare can keep writing all the books in the world about Shadowhunters and I won’t care. I’ll just keep reading. Parabatai are so awesome. I want to be parabatai with you. Let’s do it Kat, we’re the warrior sisters! Jace and Alec are the bestest of friends and Jem and Will balance each other out perfectly. And maybe I’ll end up liking Will… 🙂

      1. Hahahaha that alternation of Jingle Bells was brilliant!!
        I agree though! Cassie can write whatever she likes – if it’s in the Shadowhunter world I am happy. I think you’ll come to like Will and you may be surprised by the end of Clockwork Princess. Don’t forget to check out “After the Bridge” once you are done with The Infernal Devices. I think Cassie put it up on her Tumblr account. But don’t read it before you are done!!!

      2. Sorry it took me so long to reply!!

        I’m wicked cool with words tho 😊😊 I finished TID and I need to read After the Bridge soon. I didn’t think she did any follow up novels, but I’m happy she did. And for your information, I do love Will. But I love both of them. It’s so hard to choose…❤️❤️

  2. This is a really cool way of writing a review! 🙂 I personally liked the Mortal Instruments better, mostly because the characters seemed the same in both books. I agree about Tessa though – she’s a pretty cool character! Oh, but go for Will. Because otherwise I’ll have to fight you over Jem 😛

    1. Thank you! I thought it was cool too, interviewing people is my jam, except forever, however, when I’m being interviewed on the other hand…
      I like the Infernal Devices better because Jace is just a headache now (I’m on Lost Souls) but I find so many personality-wise similarities between Jace and Will….BUT I AM TEAM JESSA. Tessa is pretty cool, yeah, because I really wanted to see more of Downworlders and have them more spotlighted so YAY.
      So let’s do it! I CHALLENGE YOU TO A DUEL AVADA KEDAVRA JEM IS MINE FOREVER. Who am I kidding? That’s the biggest laugh of ever 😀 😀 😀

      ❤ ❤

  3. I 100% agree that this was way better than Mortal Instruments. 😁 and i really love Tessa more than Clary.

      1. I wish the next series Cassie Clare’s making has a more kickass female character. 🙂

      2. Oh, AGREED. I am reading Lady Midnight and she’s definitely the most sassiest female character Clare has ever written. I think you’ll love the book!

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

