Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

Hello, everyone!! Happy New Year! I’m doing a book tag today, and it is the unpopular opinion book tag! Looking to 2016, I want to express myself as a person more to my readers, so I am going to do this up first, as thoughts and opinions are important constituents of a personality!

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 3.04.02 PM

I was tagged by Dee over from The Bookish Khaleesi and that is quite honest because she is both a bookish person and a khaleesi (I’m joking) but aside from that, she is a great blogger and friend! Give her a look, I think you’ll like what you see!

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

~a popular book or series that you didn’t like~

I, although would like to agree with Dee’s answer. The only problem was–I really, really liked the first book in Divergent so I guess I would be lying if I said I didn’t like the series, although the second and third were a letdown–especially the third, if you know what I mean.

I did not at all enjoy the Selection series, and I know lots of people have. One of my dearest friends whom everyone on the blogosphere knows, Josie, loves this–but America is just an ugh character for me. And besides the plot wasn’t the greatest thing ever, especially with all the rebel attacks just randomly thrown in there, not making sense until the last book. And the love triangle? Um, no. I was so sick of it.

~a popular book that everyone hates but you love~

the-scorch-trials

This book is more of a balance, I guess you can say. It’s good and bad, but my friends all disliked it while I really enjoyed it. I’ve seen bad reviews saying it’s boring and the likes, but I thought it was a really good book, and perhaps the most interesting in the series, but the Death Cure was my favorite.

~a love triangle where your ship did not sail~

infernal-devices-covers1

I’m sorry okay?! For me, this series’ love triangle was so beautiful and amazing–honestly, one of the best I’ve ever read–and, beside that, I got this series along with some others for Christmas!! So grateful and happy. Anyways, I know already that Will is going to end up with Tessa because my friends (so kind as they are) spoiled it for me. But I don’t like Will! I’m almost done with Clockwork Angel, and I don’t really like him. I like Jem. Why can’t Jem and Tessa be together?? I would love that so much more.

~a popular genre that you hardly reach for~

HARDLY?? Um, not hardly. More like NEVER. And the answer, by the way? Easily horror. I am dreadfully scared and anything frightening will remain with me for a long time–seriously, I’m so superstitious, I will think that ghosts are running around my home.

~a beloved character you didn’t like~

I know you were expecting me to say America Singer, but I’ve nagged enough about her. So let me give you Peeta! I would’ve said Gale, since I really hate him, but so do a lot of other people, so he’s not exactly beloved. And besides, my friend has a really big crush on Peeta. He’s beloved, I tell you.

The reason I don’t like Peeta so much is that I don’t know much at all about his character until Catching Fire. And then Mockingjay–there is NO character development there. All I know about Peeta is that he’s an artist and a baker, and a good one at that. Oh, and he lives, breathes, and dreams of Katniss. GAWD. Boy, get a life. Please, I want to know more about you!

~a popular author you can’t get into~

Ally Condie, author of the Matched trilogy. A lot of my friends have read this and they told me that it isn’t that great, but however, you can’t deny that the series is popular. I just can’t get myself to read Matched; see, I don’t even find the Goodreads overview interesting. Just not gonna read it. Ever.

~a popular book series you have no interest in reading~

8cd65d8d-9dd1-49a6-b2ec-346223277faa

Okay, so I was going to say the bloodlines series, but heck, forget that, I think I’m going to read it pretty soon anyway, since I’ve been seeing some rave reviews about it. However, one I know I FOR SURE will not be reading any time in the next decade, is the Vampire Diaries series. After Twilight majorly wrecked all vampiric and werewolf books for me, I don’t think I can read another book with a love triangle based exactly on vampires. Although, I will say the Mortal Instruments carries out all Downworlders very gracefully, and thankfully, the Nephilim are center stage, and a much better spotlight.

~an adaptation you liked better than the book~

So I have two answers for this.

1. Still Alice by Lisa Genova: Released 2015

I watched Still Alice earlier in June or July, I can’t remember, and I haven’t exactly read the book, but I’ve read the beginning of it and I bored myself, so when I watched the movie, I liked it a lot more since the film portrayed it much better, and made it more interesting.

2. The Martian by Andy Weir: Released 2015

THE MARTIAN! Oh, yes. I watched this cinema in October, and man did I love it. My friend downloaded the book excerpt on her phone and I read the beginning, just the beginning–and it start with swearing–and I was like, “Okay, no. The movie was SO much better.” Plus, Jessica Chastain was in the movie!! If you don’t know who she is, search her up. I adore her. She is ultimately beautiful and her acting skills are tops. Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

Presentation (1)

Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperbacks

I met Aimal recently and I love her blog. Aside from how classy it is, Aimal has great discussion posts and I love the way she blogs–it’s as if she’s no more than just talking to you and it’s easy to slip up and interest yourself in snooping around her blog!

Marie from Drizzle and Hurricane Books

Marie’s blog is another beautiful, busy blog. She is an awesome bookworm and easy to relate to; you should all definitely check out her blog. Her NaNo posts are incredible and she is great at writing!

Vic from Addlepates and Booknerds

I’ve known Vic since I started blogging and she is an absolute beautiful person. She is such a supportive friend and I think you should ALL call her Vic especially because that’s the best nickname for Victoria, courtesy of me. Go look at her blog! I demand you to.

Cait from Paper Fury

CAIT. GAH. I don’t even know how to tell you about her. So when my inbox piles up and it’s like 600 emails, and it takes a whole DAY dedicated to clearing it out to clean it up, 80% of the mails all relating to blogs and such, I tend to skip up and not read every single post from the blogs I follow, but no matter how many posts there are, I ALWAYS take the time to read her posts because they are so worth it! SHE IS AN AWESOME AWESOME PERSON AND I LOVE HER BLOG TO PIECES.

And YOU! I officially tag you, and everyone else who would like to do it, in the spirit of the New Year!

There is no obligation to do the tag but if you do, please leave me a link!

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 2.27.38 PM

I had lots of fun doing this tag! I have lots of plans for the new year and am enjoying my Xmas holidays incredibly. I can’t wait to proceed into the year because I have plans to get a dog and will probably bombard you with pictures when I do. Oh, and be expecting several more highly spirited posts. I’m in an awfully good mood this holiday season. 

did you do this tag? if so, leave me a link! if not, would you want to? I tag you! do you agree with my answers? do you disagree with my answers? did you find any similarities between your post and mine? and most importantly, did you enjoy your holiday season and are you ready for 2016??

Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 8.14.59 PM

13 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

  1. Awww. *sniffles happily* THAT WAS THE NICEST THING OF EVER TO SAY TO ME. ❤ Thank you!! I have actually done this tag, but afjdkalsd yours was SO AMAZING. I love the scorch Trials too!! Like ADORE it. That entire series is all 5-stars for me and I so don’t get why people hate it. *shakes head because people are weird* And I don’t really want to read the Vampire Diaries either. 😛 And zomg, my ship didn’t sale in Clockwork Princess because…I didn’t even end up shipping ANYONE. I loved all the characters as individuals, but gah, I felt like Tessa was a bit of a damsel after all that. hehe.
    I loved reading this post!!

    1. No, Cait, you deserved it. You are my favorite blogger of EVER, so it makes a lot of sense I would say that about you. 😘❤️ Thank you, the whole Mazerunner series was amazing, and all of my friends like either the first or the third book and it doesn’t make sense because the second book is where ALL OF THE ACTION IS AT. I’m just done with vampires right now, so I didn’t even consider it. I did ship the characters in Clockwork Princess, but I liked them better individually than together, even though I did ship them. I liked Tessa personally in Clockwork Angel the best. By the time you got to Clockwork Princess, I agree, Tessa was not at all like the Tessa who smashed a vase on Will. She was powerful, and she knew it, but she just let Sill and Jem protect her and she cared a whole heck of a lot more for the relationship between them than stopping Mortmain from destroying a whole race of beings. Thank you Cait! It means a lot to me, because I aspire to be a blogger like you. LYSM 😊

    1. Oh YES. I never even considered The Vampire Diaries. I discovered it while reading Twilight, and I was so disappointed with vampires that I just didn’t even chance the consideration. And you’re very welcome, Marie. You deserved them! LY ❤

  2. Hey Veda! I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t like The Selection series :(. I finished the 1st book, and have yet to read the 2nd one, and I like it well enough. I know what you mean about horror books, they give me the chills, too!

    Happy New Year!! ❤

    1. Oh I’m so late for this, I feel guilty. I’m sorry! I hope you had a great New Year’s celebration too, even though it was six months ago 😀 😀 I only continued the Selection series because I loved Maxon and the competition between the girls was entertaining. I like Marlee and Celeste (you’ll learn some when you get to the One about Celeste and Marlee both). I HATE AMERICA SINGER. THAT’S THAT. Aside from how much she frustrates me, I cannot put into words how much I disliked her character. All she does is cry and tug her ear to the point of me willing to rip it off! But it’s very obvious that she’s the real one out of the other girls, though. Lakshanyaa, horror leads me to believe in things that haunt me for months on end so I refuse to visit the upper story of my house. LY! ❤

    1. Haha, it’s been so long, I’m so sorry! I did, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE WILL. Cassie Clare is wonderful, and TID is my favorite series of hers. It beats even TDA and that’s because I’m too in love with these characters. ESPECIALLY WILL HERONDALE BUT ALSO JEM MOSTLY WILL THOUGH. I mean, I know some part of me always loved him, even when he was being upsetting towards Tessa the damsel in distress because of the perfect first impression he made. Then when I found out about the falsity of the curse, it took three seconds to get me back on Will’s side. I love Jem and all, but Kat, let’s face it, I’m Mrs. Will Herondale now. 😉 LY Kat ❤

      1. Legit Kat, I did not even know what that was so I just searched it up 😂 Way out of the program hahahaa. I like how your using my new title 😉 and seriously tho, EVERY SINGLE BOOK CASSANDRA CLARE WRITES IS HEARTBREAKING AND AWESOME. I’m not prepared to read about the next generation of my Herondale family 😂

      2. How could you not have known? I AM SO EXCITED! However, I am glad that the 2nd book in the Dark Artifices comes before the Herondale sequels. I’d rather have one series at a time and not 2 torturous ones to wait for.

      3. Well, NOW I’m excited. Haha 😂 you know what the release date is for the Last Hours books? I’m pretty sure (I hope) she’s going to release the remaining two books in TDA before she starts the Last Hours (whenever the first one is getting published) so it will be easier to just move on from series to series instead of switching between two book series’. 😊

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

