The Heir

My Rating: 

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 5.17.49 PM

Basic Info:

Title: The Heir

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: YA Romance/Dystopian

Series: 4th installment in The Selection

Paperback price: $9.99

Followed by: The Crown

Preceded by: The One

Goodreads Synopsis:

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

Review:

This was the fourth book in the Selection series and it left in a big cliffhanger. This book takes place 20 years after America Singer’s Selection and it is from her daughter’s perspective, Princess Eadlyn. Eadlyn has her own Selection to calm the rebelling society, but she is not interested in finding a husband.

*WARNING: SPOILERS MAY BE AHEAD, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK*

I really thought that the book was no better than America Singer’s story. I especially did not like Princess Eadlyn nor did I enjoy reading from her perspective. Eadlyn is selfish, arrogant, and very, very false as a character. Much like her mother, who’s only resolve to everything was crying, Eadlyn had the same air of disappointment she brought with her.

As for King Maxon. I thought he really got better. The character development was excellent, it is implied in the story that the society does not overthrow the monarchy because America and Maxon lead it, but if Eadlyn were to step up, they would overthrow it.

I thought Eadlyn had to change with so many things, and through all the choices she made in her head, everything she said, everything she thought about, everything we learn from the past–it got me shaking my head while reading the book. No, Eadlyn. Just. No. Eadlyn did not consider any of the Selected boys as a true love. She was completely overthrown by the “weight of it all” which conquered her thoughts for the majority of the book, as did America’s between Maxon and Aspen.

I loved seeing America Singer as a mother. She is softened, she is strong, she is well-paced, and she is confident. All the attributes that she lacked in the previous books (making me wonder WHY Maxon chose her) now are far more identifiable.

Overall, I have to praise Kiera Cass because the book started out excellently! Unlike her other books in the Selection series, the first starting with straightaway romance, the second starting with America’s uncertain feelings, and the third starting with America’s stupid attempt at something or the other, this one started beautifully, drawing the readers in at once. We found out a little about her past:

**MAJOR SPOILER AHEAD**

I COULD NOT HOLD MY breath for seven minutes. I couldn’t even make it to one. I once tried to run a mile in seven minutes after hearing some athletes could do it in four but failed spectacularly when a side stitch crippled me about halfway in.

However, there was one thing I managed to do in seven minutes that most would say is quite impressive: I became queen.

By seven tiny minutes I beat my brother Ahren into the world, so the throne that ought to have been his was mine. Had I been born a generation earlier, it wouldn’t have mattered. Ahren was the male, so Ahren would have been the heir.

(Implied that they are twins)

——-

Anyways, I thought that this book was an average read. However, I can’t wait for the fifth novel because this one ended on an upsetting cliffhanger. I really want to finish up the series, because Kiera Cass had GREAT plots but upsetting characters, and though each and every book has its ups and downs, and even though this series had HUMONGOUS ones, I would still love to complete the series.

So anyways, there it is! My review for The Heir. I fairly enjoyed and so I’m giving it 3/5 stars.

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 7.44.54 PM

You have my attention ~ talk to me!

